Antalya Archeological Museum

In mid-October, while on vacation in Antalya, I wanted to visit the local center of culture and art (Antalya Kültür Sanat). By chance, my friends brought me to this Archeological Museum instead of exhibitions of contemporary Istanbul artists. The first thought was: “for what?” — I’m not a fan of looking at antiquities. However, I was delighted with the Museum and its collection, and did not get to the actual art.


HISTORY

The Museum as an institution was formed in 1922 in the Alaeddin Jami mosque. In 1937, the exposition was moved to another mosque, called  Iyvli-Jami. Only in 1972 the Museum found its own spacious house in the Konyaaltı district.

The idea to collect ancient and antique objects appeared in Süleyman Fikri Bey, a famous teacher of the first half of the twentieth century. Then Turkey was occupied by the Italians, who began to export the objects of antiquity found at the excavations. It was because of the initiative of Süleyman Fikri Bey that all the objects found remained in Antalya, which formed the collection of the Museum.

COLLECTION

The Museum has several thousand exhibits found in excavations in different parts of Turkey. Every year their number only grows. The collection is very diverse: from prehistoric stones, primitive tools to antique vases, sarcophagi and statues. To the Greco-Roman theme added coins from different eras of Turkey and the incredible beauty of Orthodox icons, which are also given a little space.

exposition

On 7,000 m2 there are 13 exhibition halls, one open exhibition gallery, laboratories, storage, workshops, photography room, conference room, administrative offices, cafeteria and even living quarters for Museum staff.

What halls are there in the Museum? History of nature, prehistoric period, protohistorical, antiquity period, hall of gods, two halls of small finds, hall of emperors, culture burials, mosaic hall, coin hall, and ethnographic halls.

ticket policy

For a tourist from Europe or even Russia, the price will seem adequate, if not low: an adult will pass for about 30-40 liras (about 450 rubles). For the Turks themselves, the cost is very high. When using the audio guide — it is available in several languages, including Russian — add about ten liras to the ticket price. It is nice that you can do photo/video shooting without flash for free.

general impressions

I was very lucky: I was in the company of friends from Turkey and Kazakhstan, versed in the culture and history of their countries. All this served as a good ground for discussion of the exposition as a whole and individual exhibits. We shared our knowledge and experience, looking at objects that are more than one thousand years old. Of course, many joked and told funny stories. I regret that we did not take an audio guide-probably would have learned a lot.

It was amazing that even in the summer, outside the school year, the Museum is visited by many tourists and even groups of schoolchildren-they almost crawled into sarcophagi to make beautiful shots. No alarms went off, the Museum wardens did not scream — such a position, in fact, the Museum does not seem to exist.

The main thing: despite my bias to “antiquities” and indignant thoughts in my head, the trip to the Museum was delightful. The total amount of time we spent there speaks for itself: we spent there about good 3-4 hours.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Археологический музей в Анталье, Турция

В середине октября будучи в отпуске в Анталье, я хотела посетить местный центр культуры и искусства (Antalya Kültür Sanat). Случай распорядился так, что друзья взамен выставок актуальных стамбульских художников привезли меня в этот археологический музей. Первые мысли были: «за что?», — я не поклонница смотреть на древности. Впрочем от музея и его коллекции я осталась в восторге, а до актуального искусства так и не добралась.


История

Музей как институция образовался в 1922 году в мечети Алаеддин-Джами. В 1937 году экспозиция переместилась в другую мечеть — Ийвли-Джами. Лишь в 1972 году музей обрёл собственный просторный  дом в районе Коньялты.

Идея коллекционировать древние и античные предметы появилась у Сулеймана Фикри Бея, известного педагога первой половины ХХ века. Тогда Турция была оккупирована итальянцами, которые начали вывозить найденные на раскопках предметы античности. Именно из-за инициативы Сулеймана Фикри Бея все найденные объекты остались в Анталье, которые образовали коллекцию музея.

Коллекция

В музее несколько тысяч экспонатов, найденных на раскопках в разных частях Турции. С каждым годом их число лишь растёт. Коллекция очень разнообразна: от доисторических камней, первобытных орудий труда до античных ваз, саркофагов и статуй. К греко-римской тематике добавляются монеты разных эпох Турции и невероятной красоты православные иконы, которым также уделено немного места.

Экспозиция

На 7 000 м2 расположилось 13 выставочных залов,  одна открытая выставочная галерея, лаборатории, хранилище, мастерские, фотографический кабинет, конференц-зал, административные кабинеты, кафетерий и даже жилые помещения для сотрудников музея.

Какие залы есть в музее? Истории природы, доисторического периода, протоисторический, периода античности, зал богов, два зала мелких находок, зал императоров, культуры захоронений, мозаичный зал, зал монет, а также этнографические залы.

Стоимость билета

Для туриста из Европы или даже России цена покажется адекватной, если даже не низкой: взрослый пройдёт за порядка 30-40 лир (около 450 рублей). Для самих турков стоимость очень высока. При использовании аудиогида — он есть на нескольких языках, русском в том числе — добавляйте ещё около десяти лир. Приятно, что можно проводить фото/видео-съёмку без вспышки бесплатно.

Общие впечатления

Мне очень повезло: я была в компании друзей из Турции и Киргизии, сведущих в культуре и истории своих стран. Всё это послужило хорошей почвой для обсуждения экспозиции в целом и отдельных экспонатов. Мы делились своими знаниями и опытом, разглядывая объекты, которым уже не одна тысяча лет. Конечно же, много шутили и рассказывали смешные истории. Жалею, что мы не взяли аудиогид — наверняка узнали бы много нового.

Поразило то, что даже летом, вне учебного года, музей посещает много туристов и даже группы школьников — они чуть ли не в саркофаги заползали, чтобы сделать красивые кадры. Никакие сигнализации не сработали, музейные смотрители не закричали — такой должности, собственно, в музее похоже и не имеется.

Главное: несмотря на мою предвзятость к «древностям» и возмущённые мысли в голове, поход в музей был восхитительным. Общее количество времени, которые мы там провели, говорит само за себя — порядка 3-4 часов.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: