Best Russian institutions to study art

You feel like it is not enough reading books, attending lectures and watching movies about art all by yourself? In this case, it is worth thinking about getting a proper education in this area. To my regret, there are very few educational institutions in Russia where art is presented in a modern and high-quality way. A small number of decent institutions has one big disadvantage — the lack of budget places and a high price tag for studying. If you do not want or can not go abroad to study, I recommend to pay attention to the following educational institutions.


EUROPEAN UNIVERSITY, ST. PETERSBURG

The University has a faculty of art history, which prepares masters and PhD students. In addition, they practice free-listening: every semester a list of disciplines that can be attended published on the website. Unfortunately, this faculty offers only full-time education, which makes it difficult to combine it with work. However, the level of education received practically (if not completely) corresponds to European standards, and for classical art history — this is a unique case. For admission it is necessary to pass an interview and a written interdisciplinary exam in the case of master’s degree, and for postgraduate studies — an exam in a foreign language and a special discipline.

Baza Institute, Moscow

The rector of the Institute is Anatoly Osmolovsky. Students are trained in two areas: art critic and artist. Regardless of the chosen path, students receive a General theoretical basis, and can also attend classes from another area. Full-time and part-time training are available: classes are held in the evenings on weekdays and in the afternoon on weekends, which allows you to combine training and work. For admission is not necessary to have a portfolio; you just have to write a motivational letter, answering a number of questions. Upon completion of training, the student receives a diploma of “Base” non-state sample. In addition to the main training program, the Institute conducts various intensives and courses at an affordable price.

Rodchenko School, Moscow

The school is a structural subdivision of the state budgetary institution of culture and additional education of Moscow “Multimedia complex of contemporary arts”, which also includes the Museum “Moscow House of Photography” and Multimedia Art Museum. Training is conducted in three areas: art, photography and video. For admission, you must provide a portfolio and pass an interview. Forms of training are diverse: master classes, lectures, intensives and whole courses, workshops. The cost of tuition varies greatly accordingly, but it is important to note that some educational programs have budget places.

High school “sreda obuchenia»

Fully distance education. The faculty of contemporary art trains specialists: artists, art critics, art managers and curators. There is an opportunity to take courses, to be engaged in workshops or to receive full additional education with the diploma of the state sample (the main program + workshops). For admission it is necessary to prepare and send by e-mail a motivation letter and certain documents. Despite the form of training (remotely with the help of the Zoom program and a specially designed website), the programs are intensive and completely replace the “physical” evening classes.


The list of institutions may be updated over time.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Где получить образование по искусству в России

Недостаточно самостоятельного чтения книг, посещения лекций и просмотра фильмов про искусство? В таком случае стоит задуматься о получении полноценного образования в этой сфере. К моему сожалению, в России крайне мало учебных заведений, где бы искусство преподносилось современно и качественно. Небольшое число достойных институций обладает одним большим минусом — отсутствием бесплатных мест и высоким ценником на обучение. Если вы не хотите или не можете уехать за границу, рекомендую обратить внимание на нижеперечисленные образовательные учреждения.


Европейский университет, Санкт-Петербург

В университете есть факультет истории искусств, на котором готовят магистров и аспирантов. Помимо этого практикуется вольнослушательство: каждый семестр публикуется список дисциплин, которые можно посещать, заранее заключив договор — получаются своего рода платные курсы. К сожалению, на данном факультете предлагается только очная форма обучения, что затрудняет совмещение с работой. Впрочем, уровень получаемого образования практически (если не полностью) соответствует европейским стандартам, а для классической истории искусств — это уникальный случай. Для поступления необходимо пройти собеседование и письменный междисциплинарный экзамен в случае магистратуры, а для аспирантуры — экзамен по иностранному языку и по специальной дисциплине.

Институт «База», Москва

Ректор института — Анатолий Осмоловский. Подготовка студентов ведётся по двум направлениям: искусствовед (арт-критик) и художник. Вне зависимости от выбранного пути, студенты получают общую теоретическую базу, а также могут посещать занятия параллельного направления. Обучение очно-заочное: занятия проходят по вечерам в будни и днём по выходным, что позволяет совмещать обучение и работу. Для поступления не обязательно иметь портфолио — достаточно написать мотивационное письмо на электронную почту, ответив на ряд вопросов. По окончанию обучения студент получает диплом «Базы» не государственного образца. Помимо основной программы обучения институт проводит разные интенсивы и курсы за приемлемую цену.

Школа Родченко, москва

Школа является структурным подразделением Государственного бюджетного учреждения культуры и дополнительного образования г. Москвы «Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств», в состав которого также входят музей «Московский Дом Фотографии» и Мультимедиа Арт Музей. Подготовка ведётся по трем направлениям: искусство, фотография и видео. Для поступления необходимо предоставить портфолио и пройти собеседование. Формы обучения разнообразны: мастер-классы, лекции, интенсивы и целые курсы, мастерские. Стоимость обучения очень разнится соответственно, но важно отметить, что некоторые образовательные программы имеют бюджетные места.

Высшая школа «Среда обучения»

Полностью дистанционное образование. На факультете современного искусства готовят специалистов: художников, арт-критиков, арт-менеджеров и кураторов. Есть возможность проходить курсы, заниматься в мастерских или получить полноценное дополнительное образование с дипломом государственного образца (основная программа + мастерская). Для поступления необходимо подготовить и выслать на электронную почту мотивационное письмо и определённые документы. Несмотря на форму обучения (дистанционно с помощью программы Zoom и специально разработанного сайта) программы интенсивные и вполне заменяют «физические» вечерние занятия.


Список институций может со временем обновляться.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: