Black color in european art history

Kazimir Malevich. Black Square. 1915

Black is also a color

a statement made at the famous exhibition in The Galerie Maeght in 1946 in Paris.


According to the Bible, black is a primordial color, it appeared before all other colors and was immediately endowed with a negative status: light is good, and darkness is not; in darkness there can be no life. Black is ambiguous and contradictory: it is the color of the Acrhe, the symbol of fertility, death and the place of residence of a person after death.

Cave of Niaux, France

Lascaux, France

 

 

Black till X century

Black paint appears exactly when people learned to use fire in the Paleolithic era. They burned plants and minerals, bones, teeth and horns of animals. Often, charcoal (Cave of Niaux) or manganese oxide (Laskaux) was used to obtain the paint. Black took the connotation of death back in the Neolithic age: then the black stones were used in funeral rites, sometimes figures and various objects of very dark colors were added to them.

With the adoption of Christianity, black and other dark colors are perceived extremely and exclusively negatively: it is the color of the villains and the wicked, the divine curse and the enemies of Israel; it is the color of the primordial chaos, the sinister and terrible night, the color of death. By the IX-X century in Western European Christianity, some common liturgical traditions have been formed. In 1195, Pope Innocent III describes a new system in the treatise on mass, according to which black clothes should be worn in periods of waiting and repentance (Advent, Great Lent), and also for Masses on the departed and on Good Friday.

From the Merovingian era to the era of feudalism in chronicles, charters and literary texts, real personalities or fictitious characters with nicknames “Black”, “White”, “Red” are often found. They received them not always for a dark shade of hair or skin, but also for their deeds. So, Henry III (1039-1056) received the nickname “Black” for the strict subordination of his authority to the Church and the papacy.


black between XI-XIII centuries

Illustration about 1190-1200 or about 1480-1490

With the advent of the new millennium, positive perception of black color is over — now it, like other dark colors, is only negative in itself and from XI century begins to be associated with the Devil and hell. The earliest images of the Devil in European art resemble the ancient Greek satyr: shaggy ears, small horns, goat legs and tail; later it will draw wings and make all the features that are related to it with an animal more noticeable. Hell is portrayed in the form of the mouth of a huge monster, from where flames shoot out, and in the depths a burning furnace is visible; demons fork push the sinners into there, subjecting them to terrible tortures. Like the Devil himself, his demon servants are most often depicted nude, black, hairy and ugly. In contrast to the Devil, his servants draw not dense, but faded colors, creating the impression of deathly pallor.

The devil and his servants are accompanied by a retinue, in which the real animals: bear, goat, boar, wolf, cat, raven, owl, etc .; fantastic animals: aspid, basilisk, dragon; semi-human-semi-animal: satyr, centaur, siren. In Medieval culture, all these beings are considered contemptible for various reasons. Representing the bestiality of the Devil, the artists paint with special care the surface of their bodies — the slightest flaws and damages are transmitted to the skin, wool, feathers and scales of the Devil himself and his companions. For this effect, masters used contrasts of smooth and striped, speckled and spotted, as well as different linear or cellular structures.

However, despite the connection with the devil, from IX black is the color of humility and repentance and becomes the main monastic color. From the second half of the XII century after the epistolary war of Peter the Venerable and Bernard of Clairvaux, a new trend is emerging: the color of vestments becomes the emblem of the corresponding monastic order.

Moreover, approximately from the middle of XII century in Europe there are the first crests. With the advent of heraldry, black loses the status of one of the primary colors, since black in crests is the most common color, meets not more often and not less than others, does not have any specific expressiveness or significance in an emblematic or symbolic plane. However, this only softens the negative connotation of black. In the XIII century in knightly novels, black stands for mystery, and, thanks to the fashion for crests, heraldry helps the black to weaken a strong association with the Devil, which prepares the ground for the triumph of this color in subsequent centuries.


black between XIV-XVIII centuries

During the heyday of medieval culture, dark skin is always perceived negatively and is associated with the world of the Devil and the underworld.

Therefore, in the literature, black (especially black and red-haired) characters, Saracens, often fight with Christian knights, and their external features only emphasize their malignancy. The darker the skin of the character, the more dangerous the character was.

Such disgust for the black people is also observed in the visual arts: until the sunset of the Middle Ages, dark skins are endowed not only with devils, demons, Saracens or pagans, traitors (Judas, Cain, Delilah from the Bible, Ganelon from “Song of Roland”, Mordred from the legend about Arthur), but also all sorts of criminals and intruders, usurpers, treacherous, executioners, prostitutes, lepers, beggars, etc. The next contradiction: since the end of the XIII century artists sometimes endow the Queen of Sheba and Saint Maurice with dark skin.

Until the middle of the XIV century black coloring remains a complex process, with shades a little like a real black, rather a gray or blue. To get a truly black shade, the dyers began to use the gall — a small spherical outgrowth on oak leaves.

Approximately at the same time, fashion to dark clothes is spread from Italy. This may be due to the need to limit spending on clothing and improving the domestic economy as a whole, returning to the Christian tradition of a modest and virtuous life, but — most importantly — now the clothing has vividly characterized the person (sex, age, class, rank or position). From the end of the XIV century black clothes appear in the wardrobe of the rulers of Mantua, Ferrara, Rimini, Urbino, as well as sovereigns from France, England, Spain, Portugal.

With the invention of printing in the XV century the ink is not at all like the ink that was used before it: it is a fat, dense coal-black paint, pressed by a mechanical press into the fibers of paper; even today, having opened a printed book of that time, the reader will be convinced of the steadiness and blackness of the paint. This is due to the use of linseed oil as a base, which was used by artists.

Until the beginning of the XVI century there is another revolution — bright color images (in and out of the book) are replaced by black and white. For heraldry this is a real catastrophe — without a color the crests can give incomplete, superfluous or false information, which can lead to confusion and misunderstandings. Therefore, during the XVI century engravers and printers used various tricks to give an idea of ​​the colors: letter symbols, typographical icons, miniature ornamental compositions. However, such experiments led to more confusion.

Caravaggio. Lutenist. 1595

Rembrandt. Susanna and the elders. 1647

 

black after XVIII century

At the beginning of the XVIII century, most artists joined the opinion of scientists; color wins over drawing. This is the time when Isaac Newton has already completed optical experiments, as a result of which he discovered the color spectrum, and the idea of the order of the arrangement of colors began to change: gradually until the end of the XVIII century the division of colors into important and secondary, warm and cold — as we understand them today — was created. Thus, black and its antipode white color remain discarded from the color world.

Pierre Soulages. La peinture. 2013

In France in the Age Enlightenment, black and brown do not occupy much of the canvas, as in the works of Caravaggio or Rembrandt. Only in the 1760s it returned to literature and art due to the popularization of exotics, which in turn causes fashion in blacks. With the appearance in England of the genre of the Gothic novel, the fashion for the gloomy is intensified.

XIX century is permeated with fantasy, esotericism and spiritualism. By the middle of the XIX century black color reigns not only in poetry and fashion, but also in ordinary life: the second industrial revolution begins.

Artists were the first against the black. A great role in the fate of painting played the theory of chemist Eugene Chevral (1786-1889), who studied how one color changes in the neighborhood with another. Since then, artists no longer use the colors of black tones, but prefer to mix colors of blue, green and red pigments.

The appearance of the photo changed the artists’ view of shapes and colors and allowed to contrast the black and white world with color in a greater degree. Cinema also reinforces the despotism of the black and white world and only after the 1960s color movies will prevail.

At the end of the Second World War, Parisian artists, intellectuals and university students dressed in black: they assume that this fashion is inspired by the portraits of Amadeo Modigliani.

 

There is a black which is old and a black which is fresh. Lustrous black and dull black, black in sunlight and black in shadow

Ed Reinhardt in 1967 quoted the words of Hokusai

Russian Suprematism gave black very much importance, as well as the whole direction in the art of the XX century, “Black Painting”. Ed Reinhardt in the early 1960s wrote a few canvases called “Abstract Painting. Black”, which are black square fields, in which you can see only impenetrable darkness. Piet Mondrian, Frank Stella, Richard Serra, Franz Kline, Louise Nevelson also actively used black in their works. But still, in my opinion, Pierre Soulages (born in 1918) surpassed them all: he dedicated his whole life to the black color. Since the 1950’s he puts a black paint on the canvas with a plaster shovel, and draws a drawing with a knife. After 1975, he moves from black to “beyond black” — a term, by the way, he came up with himself. However, this is by no means a monochrome. It is a mono-pigmentary technique that creates a lot of light images.

In 2014, an English high-tech company announced the creation of the world’s blackest (Vantablack), produced by growing carbon nanotubes on a metal surface. Thus, Vantablack absorbs 99.96% of the light, so the surface creates a sense of vacuum. Anish Kapoor got the right to use this technology in his works, thanks to which the viewer seems to be peering into a black hole.


Sources used in the russian language:
  1. Michel Pastoureau “Blue: the history of a color”, 2017. — 144 p.
  2. Ian Baleka “Blue — the color of life and death. Metaphysics of color”, 2008. — 408 p.
sources used in the english language:
  1. Google Arts & Culture: “The Secret History of the Color Black”
  2. Sarah Gottesman “A Brief History of Color in Art”, 2016
  3. Ann Landi “The Color That Wasn’t a Color“, 2011
  4. Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering “Vantablack is the new black”

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Чёрный цвет в истории европейского искусства

Каземир Малевич. Чёрный супрематический квадрат. 1915

Чёрный — это тоже цвет

— заявление, сделанное на знаменитой выставке галереи Маг, в 1946 г. в Париже.


Если верить Библии, чёрный — первозданный цвет, он возник раньше всех остальных цветов и сразу же был наделён негативным статусом: свет хорош, а тьма — нет; во тьме не может быть жизни. Чёрный неоднозначен и противоречив: это цвет первоначала, символ плодородия, смерти и места пребывания человека после смерти.

Пещера Нио, Франция

Пещера Ласко, Франция

 

 

Чёрный до X в.

Чёрная краска появляется ровно тогда, когда в эпоху палеолита люди научились пользоваться огнём. Они сжигали растения и минералы, кости, зубы и рога животных. Часто для получения краски использовали древесных уголь (пещера Нио) или оксид марганца (пещера Ласко). Чёрный принимает коннотацию смерти ещё в эпоху неолита: тогда чёрные камни использовались в погребальных обрядах, иногда к ним добавляли фигурки и различные предметы очень тёмных цветов.

С принятием Христианства чёрный и другие тёмные цвета воспринимаются крайне и исключительно негативно: это цвет злодеев и нечестивцев, божественного проклятия и врагов Израиля; это цвет первозданного хаоса, зловещей и грозной ночи, цвет смерти. К IX-X веку в западноевропейском христианстве складываются некоторые общие богослужебные традиции. В 1195 г. Иннокентий III описывает новую систему в трактате о мессе, согласно которому чёрные одежды следует надевать в периоды ожидания и покаяния (Адвент, Великий пост), а также на мессы по усопшим и в Страстную пятницу.

Начиная от эпохи Меровингов и до эпохи феодализма в хрониках, хартиях и литературных текстах часто встречаются реальные личности или вымышленные персонажи с  прозвищами «Чёрный», «Белый», «Красный». Получали они их не всегда за тёмный оттенок волос или кожи, но и за свои деяния. Так, Генрих III (1039-1056) получил прозвище «Чёрный» за жёсткое подчинение своей власти Церкви и папства.


Чёрный в период XI-XIII в.в.

Книжная миниатюра между 1190-1200 или около 1480-1490

С наступлением нового тысячелетия с позитивным восприятием чёрного цвета покончено — теперь он, как и другие тёмные цвета, несёт в себе лишь отрицательное значение и с XI столетия начинает ассоциироваться с Дьяволом и адом. Самые ранние изображения Дьявола в европейском искусстве напоминают древнегреческого сатира: мохнатые уши, маленькие рожки, козлиные ноги и хвост; позже ему пририсуют крылья и сделают заметнее все черты, роднящие его с животным. Ад изображается в виде пасти огромного чудовища, откуда вырываются языки пламени, а в глубине видна пылающая печь; демоны вилами подталкивают туда грешников, подвергая их жутким истязаниям. Как и сам Дьявол, его слуги-демоны чаще всего изображаются нагими, чёрными, волосатыми и безобразными. В противоположность Дьяволу, его слуг рисуют не густыми, а блеклыми красками, создавая впечатление мертвенной бледности.

Дьявола и его слуг сопровождает свита, в составе которой реальные животные: медведь, козёл, вепрь, волк, кот, ворон, сова и др.; фантастические животные: аспид, василиск, дракон; полулюди-полуживотные: сатир, кентавр, сирена. В Средневековой культуре все эти существа по разным причинам считаются презренными. Изображая бестиарий Дьявола, художники с особой тщательностью прорисовывают поверхность их тел — переданы малейшие изъяны и повреждения на коже, шерсти, перьях и чешуе самого Дьявола и его спутников. Для такого эффекта мастера используют контрасты гладкого и полосатого, крапчатого и пятнистого, а также разных линейных или ячеистых структур.

Однако несмотря на связь с дьявольщиной, с IX в. чёрный — цвет смирения и покаяния — становится главным монашеским цветом. Со второй половины XII в. после эпистолярной войны Петра Достопочтенного и Бернара Клервоского зарождается новая тенденция: цвет облачения становится эмблемой соответствующего монашеского ордена.

Более того, приблизительно с середины XII в. в Европе возникают первые гербы. С появлением геральдики, чёрный утрачивает статус одного из основных цветов, поскольку чёрный в гербах — самый обычный цвет, встречается не чаще и не реже остальных, не обладает какой-то отдельной выразительностью или значимостью в эмблематическом или символическом плане. Впрочем, это лишь смягчает негативную коннотацию чёрного. В XIII в. в рыцарских романах чёрный обозначает тайну, а также, благодаря моде на гербы, геральдика помогает чёрному ослабить прочную ассоциацию с Дьяволом, что подготавливает почву для триумфа этого цвета в последующие века.


Чёрный в период XIV-XVIII в.в.

Во время расцвета средневековой культуры тёмная кожа всегда воспринимается негативно и связывается к миром Дьявола и преисподней.

Поэтому в литературе темнокожие (особенно темнокожие и рыжеволосые) персонажи, сарацины, часто сражаются с христианскими рыцарями, а их внешние черты лишь подчёркивают их зловредность. Чем темнее была кожа у персонажа, тем опаснее он был.

Подобное отвращение к темнокожим наблюдается и в изобразительном искусстве: до самого заката Средневековья тёмной кожей наделены не только черти, демоны, сарацины или язычники, изменники и предатели (Иуда, Каин, Далила из Библии; Ганелон из «Песни о Роланде», Мордрет из легенды об Артуре), но и всевозможные преступники и злоумышленники, узурпаторы, вероломники, палачи, проститутки, прокажённые, нищие и т.д. Очередное противоречие: с конца XIII в. художники иногда наделяют принцессу Савскую и Святого Маврикия тёмной кожей.

До середины XIV в. окрашивание в чёрный цвет остаётся сложным процессом, при этом оттенки мало походили на настоящий чёрный, скорее на серый или синий. Для получения истинно чёрного оттенка красильщики начинают использовать галл, или чернильный орешек — маленький шарообразный нарост на дубовых листьях.

Приблизительно в это же время из Италии распространяется мода на тёмные одежды. Это может быть связано с необходимостью ограничения расходов на одежду и улучшение внутренней экономики в целом, возвращение к христианской традиции скромной и добродетельной жизни, но самое главное — теперь одежда ярко характеризовала человека (пол, возраст, сословие, ранг или должность). С конца XIV столетия чёрная одежда появляется в гардеробе властителей Мантуи, Феррары, Римини, Урбино, а также государей из Франции, Англии, Испании, Португалии.

С изобретением книгопечатания в XV в. типографская краска совершенно не походит на чернила, которыми пользовались до неё: это жирная, густая угольно-чёрная краска, вдавленная механическим прессом в волокна бумаги; даже сегодня, открыв печатную книгу того времени, читатель убедится в стойкости и черноте краски. Это происходит благодаря использованию в качестве основы льняного масла, которым пользовались и художники.

До начала XVI в. происходит ещё один переворот — яркие цветные изображения (в книге и вне её) сменяются чёрно-белыми. Для геральдики это самая настоящая катастрофа — без цвета герб может дать неполную, лишнюю или ложную информацию, что может привести к путанице и недоразумениям. Поэтому в течение XVI века гравёры и печатники прибегали к различным хитростям, чтобы дать представление о цветах: ставили буквенные символы, типографские значки, миниатюрные орнаментальные композиции. Однако подобные эксперименты лишь больше путали.

Караваджо. Лютнист. 1595

Рембрандт. Сусанна и старцы. 1647

 

Чёрный после XVIII в.

В начале XVIII в. большинство художников присоединяются к мнению учёных — цвет побеждает над рисунком. Это то время, когда Исаак Ньютон уже закончил проводить оптические опыты, в результате которых он открыл цветовой спектр, и представление о порядке расположения цветов стало меняться: постепенно до конца XVIII в. обозначается разделение цветов на важнейшие и второстепенные, тёплые и холодные — так, как понимаем мы их сегодня. Таким образом чёрный и его антипод белый цвета остаются выброшенными из цветового мира.

Пьер Сулаж. Картина. 2013

Во Франции в век Просвещения чёрный и коричневый уже не занимают значительную часть полотна, как в работах Караваджо или Рембрандта. Лишь в 1760-е он возвращается в литературу и искусство вследствие популяризации экзотики, что в свою очередь вызывает моду на чернокожих. С появлением в Англии жанра готического романа мода на мрачное усиливается.

XIX в. пронизан фантастикой, эзотеризмом и спиритизмом. К середине XIX в. чёрный цвет царит не только в поэзии и моде, но и обычной жизни: начинается вторая индустриальная революция.

Первыми против чёрного восстали художники. Большую роль в судьбе живописи сыграли теории химика Эжена Шевраля (1786-1889), который изучал как один цвет меняется в соседстве с другим. С тех пор художники больше не пользуются красками чёрных тонов, а предпочитают смешивать краски из синих, зелёных и красных пигментов.

Появление фотографии изменило взгляд художников на формы и цвета и позволило противопоставить чёрно-белый мир цветному в большей степени. Кино также усиливает деспотичность чёрно-белого мира и только после 1960-х гг. цветные фильмы станут преобладать.

По окончании Второй мировой войны парижские художники, интеллектуалы и студенты университетов оделись в чёрное: предполагают, что эта мода навеяна портретами Амадео Модильяни.

 

Чёрный бывает старым, а бывает свежим. Есть блестящий чёрный и унылый, чёрный в солнечных лучах и чёрный в тени

— Эд Рейнхардт в 1967 г. процитировал слова Хацусики Хокусая 

Источник изображения: Сайт Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Русский супрематизм придаёт чёрному весьма большое значение, как и целое направление в искусстве XX века «Black Painting». Эд Рейнхардт в начале 1960-х гг. написал несколько полотен под названием «Abstract Painting. Black», представляющих собой чёрные квадратные поля, в которых видно только непроглядную тьму. Пит Мондриан, Франк Стелла, Ричард СерраФранц Клайн, Луиза Невелсон также активно использовали чёрный цвет в своих работах. Но всё же, на мой взгляд, Пьер Сулаж (род. 1918) превзошёл всех: он посвятил чёрному цвету всю свою жизнь. С 1950-х гг. он наносит чёрную краску на полотно штукатурной лопаткой, а рисунок прочерчивает ножом. После 1975 г. он переходит от чёрного к «сверхчёрному» — термин, к слову, придумал он сам. Однако это ни в коем случае не монохромия. Это монопигментарная техника, создающая множество световых образов.

В 2014 г. английская высокотехнологичная компания объявила о создании самого чёрного цвета в мире (Vantablack), производящегося посредством выращивания углеродных нанотрубок на металлической поверхности. Таким образом Vantablack поглощает 99,96% света, таким образом поверхность создаёт ощущение вакуума. Аниш Капур получил права на использование этой технологии в своих работах, благодаря которой зрителю кажется, что он вглядывается в чёрную дыру.


Источники на русском языке:
  1. Мишель Пастуро «Чёрный. История цвета», 2017. — 168 с.
  2. Ян Балека «Синий — цвет жизни и смерти. Метафизика цвета», 2008. — 408 с.
Источники на английском языке:
  1. Google Arts & Culture: «The Secret History of the Color Black»
  2. Sarah Gottesman «A Brief History of Color in Art», 2016
  3. Ann Landi «The Color That Wasn’t a Color«, 2011
  4. Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering «Vantablack is the new black»

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

1 понравилось

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: