Blue color in European art history

Vincent Van Gogh. Starry night. 1889 г.

Blue is an extremely soft and cooling contrast to everything troubling, bright, pressing and tiring; it is a picture of peaceful tenderness and delicious freshness; it is fragility itself in comparison with all material cumbersomeness and weight.

Karl Reinhold von Köstlin. Aesthetik

Today the blue color does not surprise us, and we do not even doubt its presence in the color palette. However, this was not always the case, because the notion of color is above all the fact of social life; it is society that “produces” color, gives it a definition and gives meaning, develops codes and values ​​for it, regulates its application and its tasks.

As Goethe said, this color enchants with its carelessness, ease, leading to an unearthly distance, a world of dreams and fantasies. It calms the nervous system, lowers blood pressure, includes self-protective mechanisms of the body. However, the excess of this color can cause a feeling of loneliness, fear, cold emptiness, oppression and even lead to apathy and depression. The taste of blue is not the most appetizing color, but it is associated with coolness and freshness.

Витраж в Шартрском соборе, Франция, XII в.
Stained glass in Chartres Cathedral, France. XII century.

blue till XII century

Humanity knows all the shades of red, black, brown and ocher from immemorial times, but blue — not. Then it was made of woad, true indigo, Lazurite or Azurite, brought to Europe from Asia or Africa, and because of it was very expensive.

The ancient Greeks and Romans in general associated this color with death and the afterlife – according to one theory [1], and according to another – it symbolized fidelity, devotion and innocence, related to Zeus (Jupiter) and Hera (Juno) [2].

With the advent of Christianity, color takes on a different meaning; now it is not equated to any deity, but is the visible manifestation of God in the earthly world. Color is considered a derivative of light – one of its hypostasies. Nevertheless, in the representations of the early Western European Middle Ages, blue remains as unimportant and unreasonable color. Attitude to the colors, their presence or absence in the church depended solely on the opinion of the prelate or theologian.

Most often blue was used in book miniature, as well as mosaic, in combination with green, yellow and white. In the stained-glass windows, it was one of the main colors and embodied the penetration of the transcendent world into the temple, into the hearts of believers, making them involved in the Truth, opening in them a spiritual beginning. Its task was to convey the greatness, the eternal grace of Heaven, descending upon mere mortals in its radiance, wisdom and forgiveness.

Throughout its history, art has not produced anything that could withstand, with respect to decorative effectiveness, a comparison with these series of painted glass.

— wrote Carl Wörman in the “History of the Arts of All Time and Nations” about stained glass in Chartres Cathedral, France.

 

 

 

In Byzantine art, that gave the world the “canons” of Christian icon painting, blue personified the sky, it was a kind of metaphor and served the idea of ​​contemplation, filled emotionally frozen images. It helped to reveal and understand the essence of the narrative, in which the main thing was not the “realistic” depiction of the plot, but the sensual filling of the story.

So, in “Trinity” by Andrei Rublev blue in combination with gold is an organizing color, conveying a feeling of light sadness. We can say that the color of the icon is filled with a pure heavenly color, transferred to the clothes of angels.

The duo of blue and gold has something primordially Russian, natural, even pagan (gold ripened cereals under the high clear sky) and at the same time very Christian.

 

 


blue between XII-XV centuries

During this period, for several decades the attitude to color has changed to the completely opposite: it becomes fashionable, aristocratic. This is evidenced by the vesture of the Blessed Virgin: according to its changes it is easy to trace the features and prerequisites of this amazing phenomenon.

The Virgin Mary was not always depicted in blue robes: it was from the 12th century that this color became one of her inalienable attributes. Before that, she was depicted wearing dark colors, because she was mourning for her son. The new image turns out to be less dull and morose, vice versa, it is more clear and cheerful. The spread of the cult of the Blessed Virgin leads to the fact that a new shade of blue takes an increasing place in artistic creation. This color is increasingly appearing in stained glass, clothing, literature and even coats of arms – the first of the European rulers who used this color on their coat of arms, was the French King Louis VI.

By the end of the Middle Ages, this color becomes the most beautiful and noble for some people. In its new capacity, it gradually displaces the red, that previously played the same role. Of particular importance is the combination of these colors: red acquires an antagonist, forming a third color pair: white-black, white-red, red-blue.

From the middle of the XIV century. blue begins to compete with black color, which only benefits him – along with it, blue becomes a color of high morale. Moreover, in the 15th century, colors receive a new discriminatory function, that is, depending on the position of the society, it was allowed and / or forbidden to wear certain colors — knowledge of this fact is important when considering portraits of a given era. Unlike other colors, blue retained its neutrality.

An interesting theory, perceived by many artists of the Renaissance (on average in Europe during the XIV-XVI centuries), put forth the Italian philosopher and astrologer Marsilio Ficino; on it all colors (and the author singled out a 12-particular color wheel) corresponded to a certain energy, elements. So, white — spirit, divine light, black — matter, and blue — air.

Альбрехт Дюрер. Крыло сизоворонки. 1512
Albrecht Dürer. Wing of a European Roller. 1512

blue between XVI-XVIII centuries

The greater interval of this period falls on the era of the Reformation, which declared war on the image and color. Depending on the direction in Religion (Jesuitism, Jansenism, Calvinism, Lutheranism), the attitude toward color also changes; we will not elaborate on this in detail. In most general terms, the Reformation in the middle of the 17th century led to chromophobia. The opponents of color have many arguments. In their opinion, the drawing is much higher and nobler than color, because it is the creation of the spirit, and color is only a material substance, the product of coloring substances; moreover, they believe that color tires the eyes and does not make it possible to clearly distinguish the contours of objects and determine their shape, thereby deterring people from truth and good.

At the beginning of the XVIII century, most artists joined the opinion of scientists; color wins over drawing. This is the time when Isaac Newton has already completed optical experiments, as a result of which he discovered the color spectrum, and the idea of the order of the arrangement of colors began to change: gradually until the end of the XVIII century the division of colors into important and secondary, warm and cold — as we understand them today — was created.

Blue has taken the main place, henceforth it is considered the color of progress, enlightenment, cherished aspirations and the coveted freedoms of mankind. In this metamorphosis of blue, the literature of Romanticism, as well as the French and American revolutions played a decisive role. The invention of artificial Prussian blue, or Berlin blue, in 1709 allowed to achieve new shades of blue and green; Later impressionists and adherents of the plein air erected a cult around it.

blue after XIX century

Поль Сезанн. Большие купальщицы. 1898-1905
Paul Cézanne. The Bathers. 1898-1905

In painting for a long time, artists used contrast bright-dark color. Impressionism made its discovery: warm shades are sunlight, and cold shades represent shadows. Impressionists also re-discovered that the blue color distances nearby objects; their genre paintings, being a direct reflection of reality, are also a kind of “habitat” of blue color, they are immersed in it, appearing as a reality and a dream at the same time. The fleeting moment of life with a blue haze slips away into the infinity of time and space.

The painting “The Great Bathers”, completed by Paul Cézanne a year before his death, is a kind of attempt to find a compromise, to smooth out the contradiction between the real and the imaginary, at least in the scale of the pictorial canvas, the microcosm created by the artist. In fact, the picture is the utopia of a lost paradise, a happy and serene life in the bosom of the nature of men and women, almost outwardly almost indistinguishable from each other, immersing in the airy azure penetrated by the sun, into the blue element of water. The blue color and androgynous figures of the “Big Bathers” are associated with the eastern mythological images, Greek myths about androgynes, bisexual beings, combining the female and masculine beginnings.

Blue is a heavenly color and, plunging into black, it acquires the ring of inhuman sadness. The blue is lighter, the more it is silent until it passes into a state of silent rest and does not become white. The blue color, presented musically, looks like a cello, becoming darker, it resembles the sounds of a double bass, and in its deepest and solemn form – low organ sounds.

Wassily Kandinsky. Selected works on the theory of art (2001)

Fine art, literature, music have always been interconnected. In the works of painters, poets, composers, the images of nature and the artistic images created by them merged. And in this sense nothing has changed in the art of the turn of the XIX-XX centuries, which continued the tradition of the blue color, understanding it as the poetry of loneliness. Symbolism brought to the art a sense of life as a “blue hour” (heure bleue). The “blue hour” reflected the inner state of man on the verge of day and night, when the coming darkness changes objects, depriving them of materiality, and takes the soul to an imagined world of feelings and ideas, covered with sadness.

Today, blue color is also associated with contemplation, concentration, immersion in oneself; he always has a polysemy, even if it is withdrawn from everyday life, which allows it to project him onto the sacred and worldly life, events, objects and abstraction.

Николай Рерих. Книга мудрости. 1924
Nicholas Roerich. Book of Wisdom. 1924

Рене Магритт. Медитация. 1937
René Magritte. Meditation. 1937


Sources used in the russian language:
  1. Michel Pastoureau “Blue: the history of a coolor”, 2017. — 144 с.
  2. “Blue” (All colors of the world), 2009. — 216 с.
  3. Ian Baleka “Blue — the color of life and death. Metaphysics of color”, 2008 — 408 с.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Синий цвет в истории европейского искусства

Винсент Ван Гог. Звёздная ночь. 1889 г.

Синий — чрезвычайно мягкий и охлаждающий контраст всему беспокоящему, яркому, давящему, утомляющему; это картина мирной нежности и услаждающей свежести; это сама хрупкость по сравнению со всей материальной громоздкостью и тяжестью.

Карл Рейнгольд Кёстлин. Эстетика

Сегодня синий цвет не удивляет нас, а о его наличии в цветовой палитре мы даже не сомневаемся. Однако так было далеко не всегда, поскольку представления о цвете — прежде всего факты общественной жизни; именно общество «производит» цвет, даёт ему определение и наделяет смыслом, вырабатывает для него коды и ценности, регламентирует его применение и его задачи.

В русском языке слово «синий» по одной из гипотез происходит от древне-индийского cyamas — «чёрный», «тёмный», а в Древней Руси это слово имело отношение только к природным явлениям и, главным образом, к воде. Для обозначения цвета минералов и глаз использовали «зекрый», а для оперения птиц — «сизый». Изначально взамен «голубого» употреблялось слово «лазурный», или «лазоревый»; само же слово «голубой» приходит в русский словарь в XV-XVII вв., а его этимология до сих пор не ясна.

Как говорил Гёте, этот цвет пленяет своей беззаботностью, лёгкостью, уводя в неземную даль, мир грёз и фантазий. Он успокаивает нервную систему, снижает кровяное давление, включает в работу самозащитные механизмы организма. Однако избыток этого цвета может вызвать чувство одиночества, страха, холодной пустоты, угнетения и даже привести к апатии и депрессии. На вкус же синий — не самый аппетитный цвет, однако связывается с прохладой и свежестью.

Витраж в Шартрском соборе, Франция, XII в.
Stained glass in Chartres Cathedral, France. XII century.

Синий до XII в.

Человечество знает все оттенки красного, чёрного, коричневого и охрового с незапамятных времён, а вот синий — нет. Тогда он производился из вайды, индиго, лазурита или азурита, привозившихся в Европу из Азии или Африки, что делало его очень дорогостоящим.

Античные греки и римляне вообще ассоциировали этот цвет со смертью и загробным миром — по одной теории [1], а по другой — он симвозилировал верность, преданность и невинность, имел отношение к Зевсу (Юпитеру) и Гере (Юноне) [2].

С появлением Христианства цвет получает другое значение — теперь он не приравнивается к какому-то божеству, а является видимым проявлением Бога в земном мире. Цвет считается производным от света — одной из его ипостасей. Тем не менее в представлениях раннего западноевропейского Средневековья синий остаётся столь же малозначимым и малопрестижным цветом. Отношение к цветам, их наличие или отсутствие в церкви зависело исключительно от мнения прелата или богослова.

Чаще всего синий использовался в книжной миниатюре, а также мозаике, в сочетании с зелёным, жёлтым и белым. В витражах он был одним из главных цветов и воплощал проникновение трансцендентного мира в храм, в сердца верующих, делая их причастными к Истине, открывая в них духовное начало. Его задача — передать величие, вечную благодать Неба, нисходящего на простых смертных в своём сиянии, мудрости и прощении.

В течение всей своей истории искусство не произвело ничего, что могло бы выдержать, в отношении декоративной эффектности, сравнение с этими рядами расписных стёкол.

— писал Карл Вёрман в «Истории искусств всех времён и народов» о витражах в Шартрском соборе, Франция.

 

 

 

В византийском искусстве, подарившем миру «каноны» христианской иконописи, синий олицетворял небо, был своеобразной метафорой и служил идее созерцательности, наполнял эмоциональностью застывшие образы. Он помогал раскрыть и понять сущность повествования, в котором главным было не «реалистичное» изображение сюжета, а чувственное его наполнение.

Так, в «Троице» Андрея Рублёва голубой в сочетании с золотым является организующим цветом, передающим ощущение светлой грусти. Можно сказать, что и колорит иконы наполнен чистым небесным цветом, перенесённым на одежду ангелов.

Дуэт голубого и золотого обладает чем-то исконно русским, природным, даже языческим (золото созревших злаков под высоким чистым небом) и вместе с тем очень христианским.

 

 


Синий в период XII-XV вв.

В этот период за несколько десятилетий отношение к цвету меняется на абсолютно противоположное: он становится модным, аристократичным. Об этом свидетельствует одеяние Пресвятой Девы: по его изменениям легко проследить особенности и предпосылки этого удивительного феномена.

Дева Мария не всегда изображалась в голубых одеждах: именно с XII столетия этот цвет стал одним из её неотъемлемых атрибутов. До этого она изображалась в одеждах тёмных цветов, поскольку носила траур по сыну. Новый образ получается менее тусклым и угрюмым, взамен — более ясным и жизнерадостным. Распространение культа Пресвятой Девы приводит к тому, что новый оттенок синего занимает всё большее место в художественном творчестве. Этот цвет всё чаще появляется в витражах, одежде, литературе и даже гербах — первым из европейских государей, использовавших этот цвет на своём гербе, был французский король Людовик VI.

К концу Средневековья этот цвет становится для некоторых самым прекрасным и благородным из цветов. В своём новом качестве он постепенно вытесняет красный, прежде игравший ту же роль. Особое значение играет сочетание этих цветов: красный обзаводится антагонистом, образуя третью цветовую пару: белое-чёрное, белое-красное, красное-синее.

С середины XIV в. синий начинает соперничать и с чёрным цветом, что лишь приносит ему пользу — наряду с ним синий становится цветом высокой морали. Более того, в XV столетии цвета получают новую дискриминационную функцию, то есть в зависимости от положения общества было дозволено и/или запрещено носить одежду определённых цветов — знание этого факта важно при рассмотрении портретов данной эпохи. В отличие от других цветов, синий сохранил свой нейтралитет.

Интересную теорию, воспринятую многими художниками эпохи Ренессанса (в среднем по Европе это XIV-XVI вв.), выдвинул итальянский философ и астролог Марсилио Фичино; по ней все цвета (а автор выделял 12-частный цветовой круг) соответствовали определённой энергии, стихии. Так, белый — дух, божественный свет, чёрный — материя, а синий — воздух.

Альбрехт Дюрер. Крыло сизоворонки. 1512
Albrecht Dürer. Wing of a European Roller. 1512

Синий в период XVI-XVIII вв.

Бóльший промежуток этого периода попадает на эпоху Реформации, объявившей войну изображению и цвету. В зависимости от направления в Христианстве (иезуитство, янсенизм, кальвинизм, лютеранство) меняется и отношение к цвету — подробно на этом мы останавливаться не будем. Говоря в самых общих чертах, Реформация привела в середине XVII столетия к хромофобии, боязни цвета. У противников цвета имеется множество доводов. По их мнению, рисунок гораздо выше и благороднее цвета, потому что он — создание духа, а цвет — лишь материальная субстанция, продукт красящих веществ; более того, они считают, что цвет утомляет глаза и не даёт чётко различить контуры предметов и определить их форму, тем самым отвращая людей от истины и добра.

В начале XVIII в. большинство художников присоединяются к мнению учёных — цвет побеждает над рисунком. Это то время, когда Исаак Ньютон уже закончил проводить оптические опыты, в результате которых он открыл цветовой спектр, и представление о порядке расположения цветов стало меняться: постепенно до конца XVIII в. обозначается разделение цветов на важнейшие и второстепенные, тёплые и холодные — так, как понимаем мы их сегодня.

Синий занял главное место — отныне он считается цветом прогресса, просвещения, заветных чаяний и желанных свобод человечества. В этой метаморфозе синего решающую роль сыграли литература романтизма, а также французская и американская революции. Изобретение искусственной прусской сини, или берлинской лазури, в 1709 г. позволило добиться новых оттенков синего и зелёного; позднее импрессионисты и приверженцы пленэра возвели культ вокруг неё.

Синий С XIX в.

Поль Сезанн. Большие купальщицы. 1898-1905
Paul Cézanne. The Bathers. 1898-1905

В живописи долгое время художники пользовались контрастом светлый-тёмный цвет. Импрессионизм совершил своё открытие: тёплые оттенки — солнечный свет, а холодные — тень. Импрессионисты также заново открыли, что синий цвет отдаляет близко расположенные объекты; их жанровые картины, будучи непосредственным отражением действительности, являются и своего рода «средой обитания» синего цвета, они погружены в него, представая явью и сном одновременно. Мимолетное мгновение жизни синей дымкой ускользает в бесконечность времени и пространства.

Картина «Большие купальщицы», законченная Полем Сезанном за год до смерти, — это своего рода попытка найти компромисс, сгладить противоречие между реальным и воображаемым хотя бы в масштабах  живописного полотна, микрокосма, созданного художником. Это изображение некоего желанного места, которое существует разве что в утопии, то есть не существует нигде. По сути, картина и есть утопия потерянного рая, счастливой и безмятежной жизни на лоне природы мужчин и женщин, внешне почти не отличимых друг от друга, погружения в пронизанную солнцем воздушную лазурь, в синюю стихию воды.Синий цвет и андрогинные фигуры «Больших купальщиц» связаны с восточными мифологическими образами, ведут к греческим мифам об андрогинах, двуполых существах, соединявших в себе женское и мужское начала.

Синий — небесный цвет и, погружаясь в чёрное, он приобретает призвук нечеловеческой печали. Чем синий светлее, тем он более беззвучен, пока не перейдёт в состояние безмолвного покоя и не станет белым. Синий цвет, представленный музыкально, похож на виолончель, делаясь темнее, он напоминает звуки контрабаса, а в самой глубокой и торжественной форме — низкие звуки органа.

Василий Кандинский. Избранные труды по теории искусства (2001)

Изобразительное искусство, литература, музыка всегда были взаимосвязаны. В творениях живописцев, поэтов, композиторов образы природы и созданные ими художественные образы сливались воедино. И в этом смысле ничего не изменилось в искусстве рубежа XIX-XX веков, которое продолжило традицию голубого цветка, понимая его как поэзию одиночества. Символизм привнес в искусство ощущение жизни как «синего часа» (heure bleue). «Синий час» отражал внутреннее состояние человека на грани дня и ночи, когда наступающая темнота изменяет предметы, лишая их материальности, и уносит душу в воображаемый мир чувств и представлений, овеянных печалью.

Сегодня синий цвет также связывают с созерцанием, сосредоточенностью, погружением в себя; он всегда таит многозначность, даже будучи изъятым из повседневности, что позволяет проецировать его на сакральную и мирскую жизнь, на события, предметы и абстракцию.

Николай Рерих. Книга мудрости. 1924
Nicholas Roerich. Book of Wisdom. 1924

Рене Магритт. Медитация. 1937
René Magritte. Meditation. 1937


источники на русском языке:
  1. Мишель Пастуро «Синий. История цвета», 2017. — 144 с.
  2. «Синий» (Все краски мира), 2009. — 216 с.
  3. Ян Балека «Синий — цвет жизни и смерти. Метафизика цвета», 2008 — 408 с.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: