“The Reverse Side” by Alexander Sukhin

I visited this exhibition in early October, even before my vacation in Turkey. For understandable professional and everyday reasons that always arise before a vacation, no matter how you prepare for it, it was not possible to write and publish this post on Alexander Sukhin’s exhibition “The Other Side” on time. At first I was worried and sad, but now I’m even glad – the sensations are still fresh. This means that the exhibition is worth attention.

Alexander Sukhin is not just an artist, but a true travel artist. A collage of passport pages scans of Alexander himself and his family is dedicated to his trips. It is interesting to assume in which part of the world the idea of ​​this or that work was born. “The Reverse Side” collected works different in topic and deep meaning, however, the irriality of most of them became one of the unifying factors. Is it possible in the wild nature of the African savannah to meet a zebra with a wave-like shaved hair or a wave-like in itself?

I think the most “natural” work is “Nadin’s House (village Pyalitsa, Tersky Bereg)” of 2011, in my selection-gallery of selected works of the exhibition located below. Firstly, it is accompanied by a living story in explication. Secondly, it depicts the life of a man from the Russian North – from this fact everything inside is filled with warm memories from childhood in the village. Just pay attention to such small, but important details: hanging clothes for drying, half-curtained windows, and in one of them you can see either the silhouette of a person, or an object standing on a table or other piece of furniture, tools, etc. In terms of the appearance of the house and the condition of the surroundings, we can draw certain conclusions about the owners of this house, but now we do not need it. More noteworthy and important will be the observation associated with the picture frame – it does not distract from the consideration of the work, but also supplements it with its own pattern.

Patterns and I would even say prints is a key link in the exhibition. In some works, they are confusing, forcing the gaze to wander in a circle or tirelessly, taking a step forward, returning two back. In others, they refer to the re-viewing of already studied drawings of the exhibition. This cyclicity, “puzzle” and the visual fullness of the picture, which is difficult for primary perception, are supplemented by completely understandable philosophical meaning and humor, sarcasm and, at times, grotesque.

The exhibition is also rich in demonstrated styles of drawings. To enumerate each would significantly lengthen this post, so let us dwell on one drawing, a fragment of which I placed above. The “Magic Pencil in the Cartesian System” was created in 2014 using pointillism, that is, the creation of textures and volumes by means of spots. If you look closely at this drawing, you can see pencil sketches and even – your eyes should fall on a white dove under the pencil itself – corrections. The attentive eye is likely to detect more such cases of open correction of work.

In my opinion, in the center of the hall between the columns  the most important object of the exhibition is hidden – a small metal sculpture-cube of intersecting and intersecting “rods” reminiscent of a children’s puzzle in which you need to find the right way to exit the labyrinth. It is curious that there really is a beginning and a way out of this maze – in order to find it, you need to go around the sculpture 360 ​​degrees, study from different distances. After the “ritual” is performed, a secret door opens to the world of the exhibition – its reverse side with additional meanings.

Images open in full size by clicking on them.

The exhibition runs until November 25, 2019 at the Museum of Artistic Development of the Arctic named after A.A. Borisov, at the address: st. Pomorskaya, 3 (entrance from the side of the museum courtyard).

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Эту выставку я посетила ещё до своего отпуска в Турции — в начале октября. По вполне понятным профессионально-бытовым причинам, которые всегда возникают перед отпуском, как бы вы к нему не готовились, опубликовать материал по выставке Александра Сухина «Обратная сторона» в срок не удалось. Тогда я переживала, но сейчас даже рада — ощущения до сих пор свежи. Это значит, что выставка стоит внимания.

Александр Сухин — не просто художник, а настоящий художник-путешественник. Его поездкам посвящён коллаж из сканов страниц паспортов самого Александра и его семьи. Их интересно рассматривать, но ещё примечательнее предполагать, в какой части мира родился замысел того или иного произведения. «Обратная сторона» собрала работы разные по теме и глубинному смыслу, однако одним из объединяющих факторов стала ирреальность большинства из них. Разве в дикой природе африканской саванны встретишь зебру с волнообразно выбритой шерстью или волнообразную саму по себе?

Думаю, самая «естественная» работа — «Надин домик (с. Пялица, Терский берег)» 2011 года, в моей подборке-галерее избранных произведений выставки, расположенной ниже. Во-первых, её сопровождает живая история в экспликации. Во-вторых, она изображает быт человека с Русского Севера — от этого факта всё нутро наливается тёплыми воспоминаниями из детства в деревне. Обратите внимание на столь мелкие, но важные детали: развешенное бельё на сушку, полузавешенные шторами окна, причём в одном из них можно разглядеть то ли силуэт человека, то ли предмета, стоящего на столе или другом предмете мебели, инструменты и т.д. По внешнему виду дома и состоянию участка можно сделать определённые выводы про владельцев этого дома, но сейчас нам это ни к чему. Более примечательным и важным будет наблюдение, связанное с рамой рисунка — она не отвлекает от рассмотрения работы, но и дополняет её собственным узором.

Узоры, закономерности и я бы даже сказала принты — ключевое звено выставки. В некоторых работах они запутывают, заставляют взгляд бродить по кругу или неустанно, делая шаг вперёд, возвращаться на два назад. В других — отсылают к повторному просмотру уже изученных рисунков выставки. Эта цикличность, «пазловость» и сложная для первичного восприятия визуальная наполненность рисунка дополняется вполне понятными философским смыслом и юмором, сарказмом и временами — гротеском.

Выставка также богата продемонстрированными стилями рисунков. Перечислять каждый значило бы значительно удлинить этот материал, поэтому остановимся на одном рисунке, фрагмент которого я поместила выше. «Волшебный карандаш в системе Декарта» 2014 года создана с применением пуантилизма, то есть создания текстур и объёмов посредством точечного нанесения рисунка. Если присмотреться именно к этому рисунку, то можно увидеть карандашные наброски и даже — ваш взгляд должен упасть на белую голубку под самим карандашом — правки корректором. Вероятно, внимательный глаз обнаружит больше подобных случаев открытой коррекции работ.

На мой взгляд, в центре зала между колоннами спрятался самый главный объект выставки — небольшая металлическая скульптура-куб из пересекающихся и скрещивающихся «прутьев», напоминающих детскую головоломку, в которой нужно найти верный путь к выходу из лабиринта. Любопытно, что начало и выход из этого лабиринта действительно есть — чтобы его найти необходимо обойти скульптуру на 360 градусов, изучить с разного расстояния. После совершения «ритуала» открывается потайная дверь к миру выставки — её обратная сторона с дополнительными смыслами.

Изображения открываются в полном размере при нажатии на них.

Выставка работает до 25 ноября 2019 года в музее художественного освоения Арктики им. А.А. Борисова, по адресу: ул. Поморская, 3 (вход со стороны музейного дворика).