Gifts ideas for an art lover

The New Year’s Eve and Christmass are coming, there is a question: What gifts to choose for your family, friends and colleagues. What to give to the person who is fond of or who works in the field of art? This list is suitable for both the New Year and any other occasion, and the cost is completely different.


Ticket or loyalty card to the Museum, gallery

The ticket can be either to a local Museum for a new exhibition project or an event, or to projects of foreign museums. For example, at the Biennale or the over-expected exhibition of the year. In both cases, you can organize a joint visit or trip.

Loyalty cards, or friendly cards of the Museum, exist in Pushkin Museum, Garage, MOMA, Jewish Museum and other museums. They provide access to a variety of closed events and spaces, free and stowaway access to the exhibition, visiting creative meetings, etc. – each Museum provides different conditions.

The book “History of art since 1900”

The acclaimed edition from “Ad Marginem” publishing of the outgoing 2019. A kind of Bible of the history of art of the last century. They say, if you read it, you don’t have to study or read anything else about XX century. However, I note that its price is quite high: about five thousand rubles per book (about $80).

Any other book published by Ad Marginem

Publishing house “Ad Marginem” is well known in art circles by publications on the theory of art of the twentieth century and contemporary art in cooperation with the Museum of contemporary art “Garage”. Even the most sophisticated art lover will like something. Even a child. However, I recommend that you first make sure what books a person has before buying or ordering them. Ideally, you should ask in advance what this person needs.

Materials for artists

Consumables are always needed (it’s not always paint and brushes!). Sometimes the artist needs to update the easel or other rather expensive items. Take care of your friend and make it easier having discussed his needs in advance.

Educational program

Everyone has something and where to learn — the cost of this gift depends on the format. You can pay for a workshop on painting a landscape with a local artist, for example, or you can pay for a semester of bachelor’s degree.

A souvenir from favorite Museum

If you managed to visit favorite Museum or Gallery of your friend or you’re planning to visit it in the coming year, bring some memorable souvenir: a postcard, a book, an eco-bag, a ticket, a reproduction. But certainly not a magnet or keychain (unless the person asks, ha!).

meeting with a star

Many artists live in big cities. You can arrange a real festive day for a person inspired by the work/career of a certain curator, artist or other artist — arrange a meeting with this “idol”. It can even be a local famous artist or Museum Director, or a favorite guide, not necessarily a star of Russian or international scale.

MOBILE APP SUBSCRIPTION

For all mobile operating systems, a dozen mobile applications have been developed in which you can learn the latest news, “walk around the Museum” or study art. Some of them are initially not free, and for some payment is required to open additional functions.

Magazine subscription

Art magazines are expensive. Especially their physical copies. Especially foreign ones that are bought abroad or ordered with delivery thats is more expensive than the magazine itself. Some magazines send monthly or weekly email newsletters for free or for a fee. Pay for a semi-annual or annual subscription, first specifying the name of the desired magazine and what the person wants to get: newsletter, electronic or physical version of it.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Близится Новый Год, встаёт вопрос подарка свои близким, друзьям и коллегам. Что подарить тому человеку, который увлекается или работает в сфере искусства? Данный список подойдёт как для Нового Года, так и любого другого повода, а стоимость — совершенно разная.


Билет или карта лояльности в музей, галерею

Билет может быть как в местный музей на новый выставочный проект или мероприятие музея или галереи, так и на проекты зарубежных музеев. Например, на биеннале или сверх-ожидаемую выставку года. В обоих случаях можно организовать совместный поход или поездку.

Карты лояльности, или карты-друга музея, существуют в Пушкинском, Гараже, ММОМА, Еврейском и др. музеях. Они дают доступ к множеству закрытых мероприятий и пространств, бесплатный и безбилетный проход на экспозиции, посещение творческих встреч и т.д. — каждый музей предоставляет разные условия.

Книга «История искусства с 1900 года»

Нашумевшее издание от Ad Marginem уходящего 2019 года. Своеобразная библия истории искусства прошедшего столетия. Говорят, если её прочитать, изучить каждую страницу, то больше можно ничего не читать про ХХ век. Однако, отмечу, её цена достаточно высокая: порядка пяти тысяч за книгу.

Любая другая книга издательства Ad Marginem

Издательство Ad Marginem в искусствоведческих кругах известно изданиями по теории искусства ХХ века и современного искусства в сотрудничестве с музеем современного искусства «Гараж». Даже самому искушённому любителю искусства что-нибудь приглянётся. Даже ребёнку. Однако рекомендую вначале убедится в том, какие книги есть у человека, прежде чем их покупать или заказывать. В идеале — спросите заранее, что нужно.

Материалы для художников

Расходные материалы нужны всегда (это не всегда краски и кисти!). Порой художнику нужно обновить мольберт или другие достаточно дорогостоящие предметы. Позаботьтесь о своём друге-художнике и облегчите ему его и без того тяжёлую судьбу творца, заранее обговорив его потребности.

Образовательная программа

Каждому есть чему и где поучиться — от этого и зависит стоимость данного подарка. Можно оплатить воркшоп по рисованию пейзажа у местного художника, а можно оплатить семестр обучения на бакалавре.

Сувенир из любимого музея

Если вам удалось побывать в любимом музее вашего подопечного или вы ещё планируете его посещение в грядущем году, привезите какой-нибудь памятный сувенир: открытку, книгу, эко-сумку, билет, репродукцию. Но уж точно не магнит или брелок (если человек сам не попросит, ха!).

Творческая встреча

В больших городах живёт много деятелей искусства. Вы можете устроить настоящий праздник для человека, вдохновляющегося творчеством/работой определённого куратора, художника или другого деятеля искусства, — устройте встречу с этим деятелем. Это может быть даже местный известный художник или директор музея, или любимый экскурсовод, не обязательно звезда российского или международного масштаба.

ПОДПИСКА НА МОБИЛЬНОЕ ПРИЛОЖЕНИЕ

Для всех мобильных операционных систем разработано с десяток мобильных приложений, в которых вы можете узнавать последние новости, «гулять по музею» или изучать искусство. Некоторые из них изначально платные, а для каких-то оплата требуется для открытия всех возможностей.

Подписка на журнал

Журналы по искусству дорогие. Особенно их физические копии. Особенно зарубежные, которые покупаются зарубежом или заказываются с доставкой дороже самого журнала. Некоторые журналы выпускают ежемесячные или еженедельные рассылки на емейл бесплатно или платно. Оплатите полугодовую или годовую подписку, предварительно уточнив название желаемого журнала и что хочет получить человек: новостную рассылку, электронную или физическую версию.