Hans Hartung

Hans Hartung was a vivid representative of Tachisme, one of the movements of abstract art of the XX century. He created about 360 paintings, but, unfortunately, did not receive the same recognition as other artists of his generation.

Disclaimer: The quotes were translated by me from the Russian source.

Tachisme

Abstract art is the main art direction of the XX century, which originated around the first decade of the last century. It has a deep duality, possessing a hint of both art and an alternative. Any work assumes any interpretation, which depends on the “vision” of the viewer, or even his mood.

Almost immediately after its appearance, it divided into two main directions: “geometric abstraction”, in which combinations of geometric forms, color planes, straight and broken lines prevail, and “lyric-emotional abstraction” with its freely flowing forms and rhythms.

In the 1950-60’s a new trend in abstractionism appeared. In the US it is called abstract expressionism, and in Europe —Tachisme (from the French tache — a spot). For the Tashists, unlike their American counterparts, the less aggressive form of writing, large strokes, special attention to the color and lightness of the forms are characteristic; they worked on the method of “mental improvisation”: strokes are applied to the canvas with fast movements without a preliminary plan. Some works of the Tashists literally beat up the psyche with sharp forms and dark colors, reflecting deep processes in the soul and thoughts of the artist, while others cause associations with natural phenomena — water elements, mountain landscapes, atmospheric movements.

Biography

Hans Hartung was born in 1904 in Leipzig. It can be said that Hans Hartung began his journey as a six-year-old boy. In his notes and numerous interviews, he talked about one case from childhood, which had a strong influence on him. His grandmother was afraid of thunderstorms, so at the first blows of thunder closed herself with the children in the dark corridor. Ashamed of his fear, little Hartung decided to overcome it and ran into the room during another thunderstorm and opened the window:

From now on, I no longer allowed myself to lock myself in the corridor for a thunderstorm. I wanted to see. Moreover — I began to draw. Lightnings, as soon as they appeared, I carried on the fly in my school notebook. I needed to have time to draw their zigzags before the thunder struck. So I swallowed a thunderstorm. As long as my pencil moved with lightning speed, nothing could happen to me. […] These children’s sketches of lightning — I’m sure of it — influenced my artistic development, in a picturesque manner. They endowed me with a sense of the speed of lightning, the desire to catch a moment on the tip of a pencil or a brush, taught not to hesitate in spontaneous work

In Dresden he studied literature, and in Leipzig — the history of art and philosophy. In the summer time he traveled by bicycle to France and Italy, where he visited museums, exhibitions and academies. Hartung independently came to abstraction in his student years. Then he studied classical painting, copying the paintings of Francisco Goya, Frans Hals, El Greco, Paul Cézanne and Van Gogh. It was classical art that served as a support for him in the search for abstract figures and convinced him of the correctness of his chosen path. In works written before 1932, one can find the influence of Cézanne, Van Gogh and the Cubists. He especially admired Rembrandt for his speed of applying strokes, expressiveness and, of course, his contrasts between light and dark, his ability to cause a strong drama.

The discretion, which I had already discovered by myself, I began to follow from Rembrandt. He justified my own spots and everything that prompted me to abandon figurativeness

Meanwhile, the artist seeks clarity of plastic constructions, which forces him to turn to mathematics and study the golden section. In 1928, he attended the courses of Max Dörner in Munich, dedicated to materials and techniques used in painting. In the fall of 1929, he married a young Norwegian artist, Anna-Eva Bergman, whom he had met on a summer trip in Paris.

In 1931, for the first time his works were exhibited in Dresden. At that time art critic Will Grohmann became interested in Hartung. Khartung enters into an open conflict with fascism. On his return to Berlin in 1935, he was subjected to surveillance and interrogation by the fascist government, because of which he had to flee to Paris, which was possible thanks to Will Grohman and Christian Zervos. 1938 year complicates the life of the artist: divorce with his wife, poor financial situation, deprivation of the German passport.

Hans Hartung and Anna-Eva Bergman

In 1939, he entered the Foreign Legion and went to fight in Africa. Demobilized, he hides in Spain, where he is arrested and spends 7 months in a concentration camp. He is offered an American visa, but in return he joins the French troops in the fight against fascism. In one of the battles of 1944 he loses his right leg. Only two years later he returns to Paris, receives French citizenship, followed by the first solo exhibition in Paris and a collective exhibition in the United States.

A large series of the second half of the 1950s brought Hartung wide fame as a master of “gesture painting”, he becomes a leading figure in Tashisme. Representations about the spontaneity of this painting, the unconscious splashes of psychic energy associated with the artist for many decades.

 

In 1957, he was the first to receive the Rubens award, and in 1960 he won the Great Prize for painting at the Venice Biennale.

In the 1960s, Hartung discovers for himself scratchboard — a figure scratched with a sharp object in damp paint — it was actively used by the surrealists in the pre-war years. The artist carefully selected the instruments, varying the force of pressure and the rate of their movement, thereby creating a variety of effects: flicker, meteor trails, animal hair, fishnet structures.

In the 1960’s and 70’s a lot of exhibitions and publications in France, England, Germany, Spain, Italy, the USA and other countries are devoted to Hans Hartung’s art. In 1977 he was elected to The Académie des Beaux-Arts. The first to receive the Oscar Kokoschka Award in 1981. In 1989, Hans Hartung passed away.

Hartung’s philosophy

Abstract art for him is a natural way of self-expression, not requiring any special justification. Abstraction is an idealization and generalization of nature. Abstract forms are models that, like mathematical models, adequately describe the structures of different phenomena of reality.

From what expectation the viewer approaches to the abstract picture, what he sees in it depends — senseless spots and stripes, or a work of art. Hans Hartung frees the imagination of the viewer, makes him feel the work. Therefore, to name his paintings, he simply uses the year of writing and its “serial number.” So, “T” — tableau, “P” — peinture, which in French means “picture”; 1963 — the year of writing the work; “R6” — its serial number.

Hartung’s manner was always closer to drawing than writing, his strokes resembled nervous shivers, and compositions — Eastern calligraphy. The artist reinterprets Chinese pictorial aesthetics, which is characterized by dynamic composition and bright color, based on the contrast of light and shadow, warm and cold colors, and performed in a generalized manner. Similar experiments for Hartung, as equally for Pierre Soulage and Georges Mathieu, are, first and foremost, the search for an aesthetic ideal in stroke, brush movement and calligraphic painting.

A fragment of the documentary “Hans Hartung”, 1971 convinces us of the improvisation of the artist’s methods, according to the “gesture painting”. However, this is completely wrong. In fact, each of his actions was preceded by a kind of rehearsal, that is, sketches, in which not only the form is set, but also the character of the hand movement-rotation, sweeps, slides, throws. Later it was revealed that “spontaneous” pictures were preceded not only by sketches, but also by depictions of the composition on canvas. Actually, Hartung himself never concealed that he was doing composition sketches.

The contradiction between the two principles — the prescriptions of a clear plan and the uncontrolled unfolding of the psychomotorics of the hand — did not seem to embarrass Hartung. On the contrary, it inspired him, stimulated creative activity. If he was wrong, he kept “unsuccessful moves, misfires, distortions, if they influenced the appearance of the picture and strengthened its vital energy”.

Hartung never believed that the meaning of the lyrical abstraction is the outpouring of emotions on the canvas. Insisting on the deep connection of his art with the outside world, Hartung seemed not to allow thought about reality, independent of human sensuality. The world for him is the inseparability of both principles.

The inner sensations of pleasure or displeasure, all feelings, anger towards the world or agreement with it — all this can not in itself give a plot of painting. […] To think so is an absolute mistake. […] Internal experiences can become a starting point, an incentive. And only an incentive. […] A scream, for example, is not art at all. Screaming is nothing. In order for art to become a scream, it must be subordinated to certain laws that are very difficult to define

The root relationship of the physical and mental, their structural similarity and close interaction become the main theme of Hartung’s painting. He did not intend to depict a particular state of the natural environment — similarities and analogies arose by themselves, encompassing phenomena of different types and different spheres, and thereby opening a new principle for the classification of full-scale forms. In painting, he invariably found analogs to various states of nature, and in the same composition one can see the accumulations of celestial bodies, rain drops, snowflakes whirlwinds, a swarm of flying insects, and a scattering of seed discarded by the plant.


sources in the russian language:
  1. “All about styles and movements in contemporary art”, 2012. — 112 p.
  2. ARTuzel “Ташизм / Tachisme”
  3. ARTuzel “Абстрактный экспрессионизм / abstract expressionism”
  4. Julio Karlo Argan “Contemporary art 1770-1970”, 1999. — 755 p.
  5. E.P. Kabkova, E.P. Lvova “World artistic culture. XX century. Fine art and design”, 2008. — 464 p.
  6. V.A. Kruchkova “Abstraction and mimesis in Hans Hartung’s art [1904-1989]” // Art studies №2, 2006. — p. 387-401.
  7. V.A. Kruchkova “Mimesis in the era of abstractionism: images of reality in the art of the second Paris school”, 2010. — 471 p.
  8. V.S. Turchin “Through the maze of the avant-garde”, 1993. — 248 p.
  9. M.D. Fomina “Eastern motifs in the works of European artists of the late XIX – first half of the XX century.”, 2016. — 19 p.
  10. Ditmar Elger “Abstraction art”, 2009. — 96 p.
sources in the english language:
  1. VIDEO: Fragment from the documentary on Hans Hartung
Sources in the french language:
  1. VIDÉO: Hans Hartung Spray – Musée d’art contemporain Serignan, 2011
  2. VIDÉO: TV5Monde “Hans Hartung et les peintres lyriques”, 2016
  3. VIDÉO: Hans Hartung “A constant form”, 2018
  4. Fondation Hartung-Bergman

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Ханс Хартунг

Ханс Хартунг — яркий представитель ташизма, одного из течений абстракционизма XX в. Он создал порядка 360 картин, но, к сожалению, не получил такого же признания, как другие художники его поколения. 

Ташизм

Абстракционизм — главное направление искусства XX века, зародившееся приблизительно в первом десятилетии прошлого столетия. Оно отличается глубокой двойственностью, обладая намёком и на искусство, и некую альтернативу. Любое произведение этого направления предполагает любую интерпретацию, которая зависит от «насмотренности» зрителя, или даже его настроения.

Практически сразу после его появления он разделился на два  основных направления: «геометрическая абстракция», в которой превалируют сочетания геометрических форм, цветных плоскостей, прямых и ломанных линий, и «лирико-эмоциональная абстракция» с её свободно текущими формами и ритмами.

В 1950-60-х гг. возникает новое течение в абстракционизме. В США его называют абстрактным экспрессионизмом, а в Европе — ташизмом (от фр. tache — пятно). Для ташистов, в отличие от их американских коллег, характерна менее агрессивная форма письма, большие мазки, особое внимание к цвету и лёгкости форм; они работали по методу «психической импровизации»: мазки наносятся на холст быстрыми движениями без предварительного плана. Некоторые работы ташистов буквально бьют по психике резкостью форм и мрачной цветовой гаммой, отображая глубинные процессы в душе и мыслях художника, а другие вызывают ассоциации с природными явлениями — водными стихиями, горными ландшафтами, движениями атмосферы.

биография

Ханс Хартунг родился в 1904 г. в Лейпциге. Можно сказать, что Ханс Хартунг начал свой путь будучи шестилетним мальчиком. В своих записках и многочисленных интервью он рассказывал об одном случае из детства, который оказал сильное влияние. Его бабушка панически боялась гроз, поэтому при первых ударах грома закрывалась вместе с детьми в тёмном коридоре. Стыдясь своего страха, маленький Хартунг решил преодолеть его и во время очередной грозы вбежал в комнату и распахнул окно:

Отныне я уже не позволял запирать себя в коридоре на время грозы. Я хотел видеть. Более того — я стал рисовать. Молнии, как только они появлялись, я переносил на лету в свою школьную тетрадь. Мне нужно было успеть прочертить их зигзаги до того, как грянет гром. Так я заклинал грозу. Покуда мой карандаш двигался со скоростью молнии, со мной ничего не могло случиться. […] Эти детские зарисовки молний — я уверен в этом — оказали влияние на моё художественное развитие, на живописную манеру. Они наделили меня ощущением скорости молнии, желанием поймать мгновение на кончик карандаша или кисти, научили не медлить при спонтанной работе

В Дрездене изучал литературу, а в Лейпциге — историю искусства и философию. В летнее время путешествовал на велосипеде до Франции и Италии, где посещал музеи, выставки и академии. Хартунг самостоятельно пришёл к абстракции ещё в студенческие годы. Тогда он изучал классическую живопись, копируя картины Франсиско Гойи, Франса Халса, Эль Греко, Поля Сезанна и Ван Гога. Именно классическое искусство послужило для него опорой в поисках абстрактных фигур и убеждало в правильности избранного им пути. В работах, написанных до 1932 г., можно обнаружить влияние Сезанна, Ван Гога и кубистов. Он особенно восхищался Рембрандтом за его скорость нанесения мазков, экспрессивность и, конечно же, его контрасты между светлым и тёмным, его способностью вызывать сильную драму.

Абстракцию, уже открытую мною самостоятельно, я стал прослеживать у Рембрандта. Она оправдывала мои собственные пятна и всё, что побудило меня к отказу от фигуративности

Между тем, художник стремится к ясности пластических построений, что принуждает его обратиться к математике и изучению золотого сечения. В 1928 г. он посещает курсы Макса Дёрнера в Мюнхене, посвящённые материалам и техникам, используемые в живописи. Осенью 1929 г. женится на молодой норвежской художнице Анне-Еве Бергман, с которой познакомился в одной из летних поездок в Париже.

В 1931 г. впервые выставляется в Дрездене. Уже тогда им заинтересовался арт-критик Уилл Грохман. Хартунг вступает в открытый конфликт с фашизмом. По возвращению в Берлин в 1935 г. он подвергается слежке и допросам со стороны фашистского правительства, из-за чего ему приходится бежать в Париж, что удаётся благодаря Уиллу Грохману и Кристиану Зервосу. 1938 год усложняет жизнь художника: развод с женой, плохое финансовое положение, лишение немецкого паспорта.

Ханс Хартунг и Анна-Ева Бергман

В 1939 г. вступает в Иностранный легион и отправляется воевать в Африку. Демобилизовавшись, прячется в Испании, где подвергается аресту и проводит 7 месяцев в концентрационном лагере. После ему предлагают американскую визу, но взамен он присоединяется в французским войскам в борьбе с фашизмом. В одном из сражений 1944 г. теряет правую ногу. Лишь два года спустя он возвращается в Париж, получает французское гражданство, за чем следует первая персональная выставка в Париже и коллективная выставка в США.

Большая серия второй половины 1950-х гг. принесла Хартунгу широкую известность как мастеру «живописи жеста», он становится лидирующей фигурой в ташизме. Представления о стихийности этой живописи, бессознательных выплесках психической энергии связались с художником на долгие десятилетия.

 

В 1957 г. первым получает премию Рубенса, а в 1960 — Большую премию по живописи на Венецианской биеннале.

В 1960-е Хартунг открывает для себя граттаж — рисунок, процарапанный острым предметом в сырой краске — им активно пользовались сюрреалисты ещё в довоенные годы. Художник тщательно подбирал инструменты, варьируя силу нажима и темп их движения, благодаря чему создавал разнообразные эффекты: мерцание, трассы метеоров, шерсть животного, ажурные структуры.

В 1960-70-е гг. творчеству Ханса Хартунга посвящается множество выставок и публикаций во Франции, Англии, Германии, Испании, Италии, США и др. странах. В 1977 г. избран в Академию изящных искусств в Париже. Первым получил премию Оскара Кокошки в 1981 г. В 1989 г. Ханс Хартунг ушёл из жизни.

Философия творчества

Абстрактное искусство для него — естественный способ самовыражения, не нуждающийся в специальном обосновании. Абстракция — идеализация и обобщение натуры. Абстрактные формы — это модели, которые, подобно математическим моделям, адекватно описывают структуры разных явлений реальности.

От того, с каким ожиданием зритель подходит к абстрактной картине, зависит то, что он в неё увидит — бессмысленные пятна и полосы, или произведение искусства. Ханс Хартунг высвобождает воображение зрителя, заставляет его прочувствовать свои работы. Поэтому для наименования своих картин он попросту использует год написания и её «серийный номер». Так, «Т» — tableau, «P» — peinture, что в переводе с французского означает «картина»; 1963 — год написания работы; «R6» — её серийный номер.

Манера Хартунга всегда была ближе к рисованию, чем письму, его мазки напоминали нервную дрожь, а композиции — восточную каллиграфию. Художник переосмысляет китайскую живописную эстетику, которой характерна динамическая композиция и яркий колорит, основанный на контрасте света и тени, тёплых и холодных оттенков, и выполненный в обобщённой манере. Подобные эксперименты для Хартунга, как в равной мере для Пьера Сулажа и Жоржа Матьё — это, в первую очередь, поиски эстетического идеала в штрихе, движении кисти и каллиграфической живописи.

Фрагмент документального фильма «Ханс Хартунг» 1971 года убеждает нас в импровизационности приёмов художника, согласно «живописи жеста». Однако это совершенно не так. На самом деле каждое его действие предварялось своего рода репетициями, то есть эскизами, в которых не только задаётся форма, но и отрабатывается характер движения руки — вращения, взмахи, скольжения, броски. Позднее открылось, что «спонтанным» картинам предшествовали не только эскизы, но и прорисовки композиции на холсте. Собственно, сам Хартунг никогда не скрывал, что делал композиционные эскизы.

Противоречие между двумя началами — предписаниями чёткого плана и бесконтрольным развёртыванием психомоторики руки — как будто не смущало Хартунга. Напротив, оно вдохновляло его, стимулировало творческую активность. Если он ошибался, то сохранял «неудачные ходы, осечки, смысловые искажения, если они повлияли на возникновение картины и усилили её жизненную энергию».

Хартунг никогда не считал, что смысл лирической абстракции состоит в излиянии эмоций на холст. Настаивая на глубокой связи своего искусства с внешний миром, Хартунг как будто не допускал и мысли о реальности, независимой от человеческой чувственности. Мир для него — нераздельность обеих начал.

Внутренние ощущения удовольствия или неудовольствия, все чувствования, гнев на мир или согласие с ним — всё это не может само по себе дать сюжет живописи. […] Подумать так — абсолютная ошибка. […] Внутренние переживания могут стать отправной точкой, стимулом. И только стимулом. […] Крик, например, — вовсе не искусство. Крик — это ещё ничто. Чтобы крик стал искусством, его нужно подчинить некоторым законам, которые очень трудно определить

Коренное родство физического и психического, их структурное подобие и тесное взаимодействие становятся основной темой живописи Хартунга. Он не намеревался изобразить то или иное состояние природной среды — сходства и аналогии возникали сами собой, охватывая разом явления разных типов, разных сфер и, тем самым, открывая новый принцип классификации натурных форм. В живописи он неизменно находил аналоги различным состояниям природы, причём в одной и той же композиции можно увидеть и скопления небесных светил, и дождевые капли, и вихри снежинок, и рой взлетевших насекомых, и россыпь выброшенных растением семян.


Источники на русском языке:
  1. «Всё о стилях и течениях в современном искусстве», 2012. — 112 с.
  2. ARTузел «Ташизм / Tachisme»
  3. ARTузел «Абстрактный экспрессионизм / abstract expressionism»
  4. Джулио Карло Арган «Современное искусство 1770-1970», 1999. — 755 с.
  5. Е.П. Кабкова, Е.П. Львова «Мировая художественная культура. XX век. Изобразительное искусство и дизайн», 2008. — 464 с.
  6. В.А. Крючкова «Абстракция и мимесис в живописи Ганса Хартунга [1904-1989]» // Искусствознание №2, 2006. — с. 387-401.
  7. В.А. Крючкова «Мимесис в эпоху абстракции: образы реальности в искусстве второй парижской школы», 2010. — 471 с.
  8. В.С. Турчин «По лабиринтам авангарда», 1993. — 248 с.
  9. М.Д. Фомина «Восточные мотивы в творчестве европейских художников конца XIX — первой половины XX вв.», 2016. — 19 с.
  10. Дитмар Элгер «Абстрактное искусство», 2009. — 96 с.
Источники на английском языке:
  1. VIDEO: Фрагмент документального фильма о Хансе Хартунге, 1971
Источники на французском языке:
  1. VIDÉO: Hans Hartung Spray — Musée d’art contemporain Serignan, 2011
  2. VIDÉO: TV5Monde «Hans Hartung et les peintres lyriques», 2016
  3. VIDÉO: Hans Hartung «A constant form», 2018
  4. Fondation Hartung-Bergman

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

1 понравилось

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: