Den røde armés tilbaketrekning /Возвращение Красной Армии /The Withdrawal of the Red Army

What is contemporary art? Each person has his or her own opinion about it. it’s a pity that the most part of population doesn’t understand (and doesn’t want to understand) what’s going on in art. I believe it is connected with the narrow mindset. A person who doesn’t even try to see in an art object some metaphors and allegories in a real events or personalities would never find sense in contemporary art exhibitions and trends.

 

3-6

Yesterday opened travelling exhibition “Den røde armés tilbaketrekning /Возвращение Красной Армии /The Withdrawal of the Red Army”. The exhibition is amazing: I could stand in front of each object and think about a dozen of interpretations that the artist might have created.

Actually, the exhibition is really wonderful and unique at least because it’s been prepared for seven years. I will not even say that the objects are collected from museums from all over the world. Most importantly is that despite the major serious and dangerous theme — war — this exhibition is irregular. It changes the consciousness and actually carries you in this terrible time…

1-24

It’s a challenge for Arkhangelsk. Firstly, because of the form of the idea: originals and copies of paintings, drawings, sculpture. Add two more hammock, two videos (one of them is rated 18 +) and two photos in one-to-one resolution. By the way, they were the ones who had the greatest resonance in the views of the audience. Of all the people I had to discuss the exhibition with, only 20% really appreciated the experiment.

Secondly, the subtle relationship of all objects: Hammocks, video from Hall 18 +, photography and colorful drawings — what unites them? Why are they represented in this location and order? After all, why are they, rather than our usual attributes, from war in the form of weapons, letters and clothes?

1-54

I can’t boast of an absolute understanding of the exhibition. Thanks to a brief conversations with curators of the exhibition, local art historians, specialists from museums and artists I have made certain view on the exhibition. However, I am aware that in order to fully understand the meaning of the exhibition and to finally understand my impression I need to come here more than once. Without friends and acquaintances — alone. I hope it will be possible with my tight schedule. Because I want to repeat this cultural hike.

Of course, the exhibition causes gossips, a lot of criticism and at the same time admiration from “ordinary” citizens and well-educated people. It is a contemporary art that requires reflections, disputes and arguments. As Ivan Galuzin – the curator of the exhibition – said, one of the goals of the entire project was to make the viewer think so that the person will try to find his or her point of view.

Photography: Polina Nechaeva

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Den røde armés tilbaketrekning /Возвращение Красной Армии /The Withdrawal of the Red Army

Что такое современное искусство? У каждого свой взгляд на этот счёт: кто-то, как я, готов падать на колени перед «Красным квадратом» Малевича. Правда, для большинства происходящее сейчас в искусстве остаётся мало того непонятным, так ещё и не воспринимаемым вовсе. Мне кажется, это вызвано узкостью мышления. Человек, не старающийся и не желающий увидеть в предмете искусства параллель или метафору на историю и недавние события, никогда не найдёт смысл в современных художественных веяниях.

3-6

Вчера в выставочном зале Союза художников открылась невероятная выставка-путешественница «Den røde armés tilbaketrekning /Возвращение Красной Армии /The Withdrawal of the Red Army». Невероятной она была для меня: у каждого объекта-экспоната я могла стоять минут десять, при этом придумав не один десяток баек о том, что хотел сказать художник и как интерпретирую это я.

Вообще, она действительно превосходна и уникальна хотя бы потому, что её готовили семь лет. Я даже не буду говорить о том, что экспонаты собраны из музеев со всего мира. Самое главное, несмотря на основную серьёзную и опасную тему — война — эта выставка неординарна. Она переворачивает сознание и на самом деле переносит тебя в это страшное время…

1-24

Для Архангельска — это вызов. Во-первых, форма подачи идеи: оригиналы и копии картин, рисунки, скульптура. К ним прибавьте ещё два гамака, два видео (одно из них 18+) и две фотографии в разрешении один к одному. К слову, именно они вызывали наибольший резонанс во мнениях зрителей. Из всех, с кем я успела обсудить выставку, лишь 20% по-настоящему оценили эксперимент.

Во-вторых, тонкая взаимосвязь всех экспонатов: гамаки, видео из зала 18+, фотографии и разноцветные рисунки — что их объединяет? Почему они представлены именно в таком расположении и порядке? В конце концов, почему именно они, а не привычные нам атрибуты с войны в виде оружия, писем и одежды?

1-54

Я не могу похвастаться абсолютным пониманием. Благодаря беседам с кураторами выставки, местными искусствоведами, работниками музеев и художниками я прочувствовала определённые детали выставки. Однако я осознаю, что для того, чтобы на 100% разобраться во всех причинно-следственных связях и окончательно уяснить своё впечатление, мне нужно прийти сюда ещё не раз. Без друзей и знакомых — одной. Надеюсь, с моим плотным графиком такая возможность представится. Потому что я безумно хочу повторить этот культурный поход.

Безусловно, выставка вызывает пересуды, критику и в то же время похвалу со стороны «обычных» граждан, так и знающих людей. Это современное искусство, которое требует размышления, споров и аргументов в них. Как сказал куратор выставки, Иван Галузин, одна из целей всего проекта — заставить зрителя подумать да так, чтобы он ещё несколько дней пытался найти свою точку зрения.

Фотограф: Полина Нечаева

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: