Саша Коджо

Kodjo is a young calligrapher who started his activity in 2013. On his account, a lot of orders, including a Moscow beauty salon, and even a whole personal exhibition in Arkhangelsk. Ahead of him is waiting for a lot of interesting, because he is one of four representatives of the international project Calligraffiti Ambassadors in Russia.

Sasha writes gothic, one of the most popular types of calligraphy, which was born in the Middle Ages. Virtually all the “Great Calligraphers” begin with Gothic. For Sasha it’s not just gothic, but a separate world. In his works he often uses quotes from George Orwell’s 1984 or words from his favorite songs. Everything that surrounds Kojo, is reflected in his paintings. One and the same word can be written in different ways: italic with gentle and smooth lines or gothic. At the master class, not everyone could even read the word flower (flower) in Gothic. All because we do not associate flowers with something heavy, dark and straightforward.

In modern calligraphy, the emphasis is not on what is depicted in the picture, but in the emotions and feelings of the author. The artist, doing the work, puts a part of himself. This piece is also appreciated in the works. The sincerity of artists is appreciated

WDikQQeYowc

Now Sasha lives in St. Petersburg, but often comes home to his parents. He knows that we have few interesting events. Therefore, the main idea was to create an exhibition, and only later – to conduct a workshop, a master class and “skills”, making some contribution to the development of our city. Indeed, people could not only look at the beautiful works, but also get some knowledge from Sasha himself and other advanced calligraphers.

To bring the exhibition to Arkhangelsk is a symbolism for me. I wanted to make my debut in the city where I was born. This is just the beginning. Perhaps in the spring there will be another exhibition in St. Petersburg. In April, I definitely go to Munich, and in May – to Paris. I am very excited, did not even understand all this

The whole organization of the exhibition and events he was engaged himself for two weeks, and on a completely non-commercial basis! To invest all of yourself and see what kind of return will be worth it. It is very important for him that people like the exhibition. He sees it in the brilliance in their eyes. Even during our interview, people approached him and praised him.

The exhibition was prepared by Sasha himself at night: so no one bothers and thinks easier. As it turned out, the most difficult thing was to make the stretchers, the production of which Sasha left on the last day. For each painting, it was necessary to connect the four slats, and then pull the canvas and attach it with a stapler. As a result, it took more than a thousand braces!

At the opening, Kojo was very worried, after all, more than fifty people, journalists from newspapers and even from television … He briefly told about the history of calligraphy and its present situation. He also showed how calligraphy is “done” by writing procrastination with a mop in front of the guests of the exhibition.

dXjQ30wJWFE

Do not confuse calligraphy with lettingering! Initially, calligraphy is what you write with your hand. Lettering is already drawing letters, most often with the help of special computer programs.

Now mostly write gothic and its varieties, or italic. Few people come up with their own: Theosone, Shoe, Tareq, Luca Barcelona, Retna. In the countries of the Middle East, they develop an Arabic ligature. Unfortunately, we can not fully appreciate her beauty: for the calligraphy, knowledge of the language is important.

The whole point of calligraphy is that you find some familiar elements, letters, and you perceive not as daub, but as words, sometimes even as a puzzle

So, Sasha prefers to work with the Latin alphabet, although he does not refuse the Cyrillic alphabet. He says that until he brings the Cyrillic alphabet to the required level, he will not show the work. For him, the result is more important than the process itself.

 At home I have few works. If I did not like it I throw it away. I understand that in a year I will make the work better, so why should I save it?

gSdtQGn0LKA (1)

Work above – the most beloved work of Sasha from this exhibition. This diptych was written last for the exhibition. After a whole night of work at seven in the morning he looked at the diptych, thinking of adding something. Decided that the morning of the evening is wiser. The next day, looking at the result with a fresh look, I understood: perfect.

Any calligraphic work – patience, improvisation and no blanks. All that is in my head is an approximate representation of the general plan of the picture. Where will the next stroke begin? You never know

23

When you spend a very long time working on something, you give 100%, then you get a response. For Sasha such a response to his work was an invitation to the ranks of Calligraffiti Ambassadors.

In 2015, the founder of modern calligraphy, Niels Mölmann assembled 50 of the best calligraphers from around the world in one team – Calligraffiti Ambassadors. For the work of this community, only on Facebook more than three million people watch daily.

In calligraphy, there are two ways: to do everything or to bend one’s stick. I’m trying to bend my stick. During this time and again I pay with the lack of orders, but in a professional society this approach is highly valued

It all began simply: he wanted to learn how to write beautiful letters. Sasha Kojo studied everything himself with the help of books, video lessons and experiment. Now schools of calligraphy and lettering are opening all over Russia. There is the same problem as with photo schools: is it worth going to learn? Sasha believes that it is worth, provided that there you will be given a base. However, he accentuates that the best start-up is a visit to workshops and master classes of calligraphers already held, since besides the base they also share interesting techniques.

You have to do what you want; bend his line, not departing from the original goal. Do not forget where you started

MJk1-IDAf94

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Кóджо — молодой каллиграф, начавший свою деятельность в 2013 году. На его счету множество выполненных заказов, в числе которых московский салон красоты, и даже целая персональная выставка в Архангельске. Впереди его ждёт много интересного, ведь он один из четырёх представителей международного проекта Calligraffiti Ambassadors в России.

Саша пишет готикой, одним из самых популярных видов каллиграфии, который зародился ещё в Средние века. Практически все «Великие каллиграфы» начинают именно с готики. Для Саши это не просто готика, а  отдельный мир. В своих работах он часто использует цитаты из «1984» Джорджа Оруэлла или слова из любимых песен. Всё, что окружает Коджо, находит отражение в его картинах. Одно и то же слово можно написать по-разному: италиком с нежными и плавными линиями или готикой. На мастер-классе не все даже смогли прочитать слово flower (цветок) в готике. Всё из-за того, что мы не ассоциируем цветы с чем-то тяжёлым, тёмным и прямолинейным.

В современной каллиграфии акцент не на том, что изображено на картине, а в эмоциях и чувствах автора.  Художник, выполняя работу, вкладывает часть себя. Эта частичка и ценится в работах. Ценится искренность художников.

Сейчас Саша и живёт в Санкт-Петербурге, но часто приезжает домой к родителям.  Он знает, что у нас проводится мало интересных мероприятий. Поэтому главной идеей стало создать выставку, а лишь позднее — провести воркшоп, мастер-класс и «скиллшеир», сделав некий вклад в развитие нашего города. Действительно, люди смогли не только посмотреть на красивые работы, но и получить определённые знания от самого Саши и других продвинутых каллиграфов.

Привести выставку в Архангельск — некий символизм для меня. Я хотел сделать свой дебют в городе, где родился. Это только начало. Возможно, весной будет ещё одна выставка в Питере. В апреле я точно еду выставляться в Мюнхен, а в мае — в Париж. Я очень взволнован, даже не понял ещё всего этого.

Всей организацией выставки и мероприятий он занимался сам на протяжении двух недель, причём на совершенно некоммерческой основе! Вложить всего себя и посмотреть, какую получит отдачу — это того стоило. Для него очень важно, что людям нравится выставка. Он видит это по блеску в их глазах. Даже во время нашего интервью, люди подходили к нему и хвалили.

Саму выставку Саша готовил ночами: так никто не беспокоит и легче думается. Как оказалось, сложнее всего было сделать подрамники, изготовление которых Саша оставил на последний день. Для каждой картины необходимо было соединить четыре рейки, а затем натянуть холст и прикрепить его степлером. В итоге ушло больше тысячи скоб!

На открытии Коджо очень волновался, ведь пришло больше полсотни человек, журналисты из газет и даже с телевидения… Он кратко рассказал об истории каллиграфии и её настоящем положении. Также он показал, как «делается» каллиграфия, написав  procrastination с помощью швабры на глазах у гостей выставки.

Не стоит путать каллиграфию с леттерингом! Изначально, каллиграфия — то, что ты пишешь рукой. Леттеринг — это уже рисование букв, чаще всего с помощью специальных компьютерных программ.

Сейчас в основном пишут готикой и её разновидностями, либо италиком. Мало кто придумывает своё: Theosone, Shoe, Tareq, Luca Barcelona, Retna. В странах же Ближнего Востока развивают арабскую вязь. К сожалению, мы не можем полноценно оценить её красоты: для каллиграфии важно знание языка.

Вся фишка каллиграфии в том, что ты находишь какие-то знакомые элементы, буквы и воспринимаешь не как мазню, а как слова, иногда даже как головоломку.

Так, Саша предпочитает работать с латиницей, хотя от кириллицы не отказывается. Он говорит, что пока не доведёт владение кириллицей до нужного уровня, показывать работы не будет. Для него важнее результат, нежели сам процесс.

Дома работ почти нет, что не понравилось — выкидываю. Я понимаю, что через год я сделаю работы круче, так зачем копить?

Работа выше — самое любимое творение Саши из этой выставки. Этот диптих был написан последним для выставки. После целой ночи работы в семь утра он смотрел на диптих, думая что-нибудь добавить. Решил, что утро вечера мудренее. На следующий день, посмотрев на результат свежим взглядом, понял: идеально.

Любая каллиграфическая работа — терпение, импровизация и никаких заготовок. Всё, что есть в голове, так это примерное представление общего плана картины. Куда заведёт следующий штрих? Неизвестно.

Когда очень долго над чем-то работаешь, выкладываешься на все 100%, то обязательно получаешь отклик. Для Саши таким откликом на его труды стало приглашение в ряды Calligraffiti Ambassadors.

В 2015 году основатель современного каллиграфити Нильс Мёльман собрал 50 лучших каллиграфов со всего мира в одну команду — Calligraffiti Ambassadors. За работами этого сообщества  только в Facebook ежедневно наблюдает более трёх миллионов человек.

В каллиграфии два пути: делать как все или гнуть свою палку. Я пытаюсь гнуть свою палку. За это время от времени я расплачиваюсь отсутствием заказов, но в профессиональном обществе такой подход ценится высоко.

Всё началось просто: ему захотелось научиться красиво писать буквы. Саша Коджо учился всему сам с помощью книг, видео-уроков и эксперимента. Сейчас по всей России открываются школы каллиграфии и леттеринга. Возникает та же проблема, что и с фотошколами: стоит ли идти учиться? Саша считает, что стоит, при условии, что там тебе дадут базу. Однако он акцентирует, что лучший start-up — посещение воркшопов и мастер-классов уже состоявшихся каллиграфов, поскольку помимо базы они делятся ещё и интересными приёмами.

Нужно заниматься тем, что ты хочешь; гнуть свою линию, не отходя от первоначальной цели. Не забывать, с чего ты начинал.