The Short Story of Art

Let’s be honest, we don’t always have the time and wish to read thick encyclopedias on the history of art to get a general idea and some knowledge you want. In such cases, we refer to different compact editions with the most important information for each period. “The Short Story of Art” is one of them.

The book is intended primarily for those who are just entering the world of art and who want to understand the connection between the periods, concepts and terms. Anyways, this book can also be useful for those who are already in the art world as a quick reference book.

Unlike the book “Art” from the Russian series “For those who want to manage everything” published by “Eksmo-Press” (in Russia), this book is not dedicated solely to the periods, and easy navigation helps to dive into the topic of interest. “The Short Story of Art” consists of four sections: “Styles and trends”, “Works”, “Themes” and “Techniques”. In books that talk “about all art history in five minutes” you can constantly find texts about styles, trends and major works, but themes and techniques are neglected. That is the value of this book – raising all topics connected with visual arts.

Navigation is arranged as follows: each page is dedicated to a specific subject. In the upper right corner of the circle you see the period. Then the most important information is indicated: the main names of the epoch/direction/theme, the initial data about the work. At the bottom of the page there are cross-references to other articles of the book, revealing the same subject from the other angle.

Despite the left alignment of the text (which is extremely inconvenient for me personally), it is easy to read — the language is not burdened with terms, but adapted to a person who is far from the world of art and its complex language (Russian art language has complex syntax). At the end of each mini-article there  is a summary, which gives an understanding of the context. I recommend to start acquaintance with each page with this summary, then proceed to the main text and only then get acquainted with the representatives of the direction or other details specified on the page.

The choice of artists and works in such books, most likely, will forever remain a mystery to me: the choice is sometimes very strange, not quite well-known artist or works are discussed or they don’t clearly characterize the episode, direction, etc. Perhaps you can rely on Susie Hodge’s opinion: she wrote more than 100 books for children and adults on the history of art, design, religion and biography, practical art.

In addition to easy navigation and really the most important information for understanding the development of art, the quality of paper and printing can be distinguished as the dignity of the book. Books on art, first of all, are about the visual side. So, the images should be clear, bright, catching the eye, and not causing disgust.

However, the book is not perfect: like other books of this type, the information is presented as briefly as possible and will not suit the lazy reader. It forces to work with the material. Some illustrations are located unsuccessfully: at the spine or two pages, which interferes with perception. There’s no space for note taking. Of course, it’s all the little things compared to a well-selected and developed by the author of the book. I think that at the moment, “The Short Story of Art” is the best book about art in a summarized format.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Давайте признаемся себе в горькой правде: не всегда есть время и желание читать огромные тома энциклопедий по истории искусств, но получить общее представление и определённые знания хочется. В таких случаях нас спасают разные компактные издания с самой важной информацией по каждой эпохе. «Главное в истории искусств» — как раз из их числа.

Книга предназначена в первую очередь для тех, кто только погружается в мир искусства и хочет сложить большой и сложный пазл эпох, понятий и терминов воедино. Знатоку книга тоже может быть полезна в качестве быстрого справочника.

В отличие от подобной ей книги «Искусство» из серии «Для тех, кто хочет всё успеть» издательства «Эксмо-Пресс», данная книга не зациклена исключительно на эпохах, а удобная навигация помогает самостоятельно погрузиться в интересующую тему. «Главное в истории искусств» состоит из четырёх разделов: «Стили и направления», «Произведения», «Темы» и «Техники». В изданиях типа «про искусство за пять минут» постоянно встречаются тексты про стили, направления и основные произведения, а темы и техники — нет. Этим и ценно издание.

Навигация устроена следующим образом: каждая страница посвящена определённому предмету. В верхнем правом углу в кружке — периодизация. Затем указывается самая важная информация: основные имена эпохи/направления/темы, исходные данные о произведении. Внизу страницы представлены перекрёстные отсылки к другим статьям книги, так же раскрывающих тот же объект анализа.

Несмотря на выравнивание текста по левому краю (что крайне неудобно лично для меня), читается легко — язык не отягощён терминами, а адаптирован под человека, пока что далёкого от мира искусства и его сложным синтаксисом. В конце каждой мини-статьи располагается резюме, информация о самом важном, которое даёт понимание контекста. Рекомендую начать знакомство с каждой страницей именно с главного, затем приступить к основному тексту и лишь потом знакомиться с представителями направления или другими деталями, указанными на странице.

Выбор авторов и произведений в подобных изданиях, скорее всего, навсегда останется для меня тайной за семью печатями — выбор порой очень странный, не вполне «массовый» или не ярко характеризует эпоху, направление, творца. Наверное, на мнение Сьюзи Ходж, автора книги, положиться можно: она написала более 100 книг для детей и взрослых по истории искусства, дизайну, религии и биографии, практическому искусству.

Помимо удобной навигации и наличии действительно самой важной информации для понимания развития искусства, как достоинство издания можно выделить качество бумаги и печати. Всё же книги по искусству — в первую очередь, о визуальном. А значит, изображения должны быть чёткими, яркими, цеплять взгляд, а не вызывать отвращение и быть «ни о чём».

Впрочем, книга не идеальна: как и у всех подобных изданий материал представлен максимально сжато и не подойдёт ленивому читателю. Некоторые иллюстрации работ расположены неудачно, у самого корешка или на две страницы, что мешает восприятию. Места для своих пометок и комментариев на полях крайне мало — можно сказать, что вообще нет. Конечно, это всё мелочи по сравнению с хорошо отобранным и проработанным автором материалом. Думаю, что на данный момент, «Главное в истории искусств» — лучшая книга про искусство в резюмированном формате.