Why Art cannot be taught

The book is a reflection of the American art historian, art critic and Professor of the Art Institute of Chicago James Elkins about whether it is possible to teach art, what problems exist in teaching and learning art, and most importantly — what can be changed for the better.

When I stood in the library in front of the Garage and Ad Marginem bookshelves in early autumn, picking out another pile of books to study, I thought that this book (in the old edition – with a pink and white cover) was about teaching art in general: its history and theory. The idea that the book might be about something completely different did not even occur to me.

In fact, this book is about art critics, but most importantly – about artists. Is it possible to teach a person to become an artist? To become a famous artist? Or to teach in the way that the person entered the history of mankind as one of the greatest? Spoiler: no, it won’t work. The author discusses this only in the third chapter called “Theories”, in which he comments on different existing opinions.

However, before the Chapter about learning art, there are two more – “Stories” and “Conversations”. In the first, Elkins describes how the teaching of art to artists (in a broad sense) and art theorists has changed throughout history: what institutions and disciplines existed, how the admission process was built, the training itself and the delivery of the final work. In “Conversations” the historical excursion is supplemented by modern experience on the part of the student and the teacher. Three important questions are raised here: the understanding of academic freedom, what exactly can be taught, and the difference between visual art and other disciplines.

The last two chapters are devoted to critical analysis. Criticism is one of the most important components of learning any specialty, and even more – artistic. The fourth chapter of the same name deals with oral criticism, its paradoxes and things that make oral criticism one of the most difficult to formulate and perceive. These are prejudices, a small amount of time, inability to express thoughts, incompetence, and much more. I would add that these problems are also relevant for written reviews of works.

In the final Chapter, Elkins makes recommendations for improving the analysis of student works. They are not very much (a total of five subchapters), they have different importance values. However, each of them qualitatively changes the important stage of work evaluation.

I think “Why Art cannot be taught” is useful primarily for teachers of any creative specialty: James Elkins gives good advice for correct and balanced reviews, critical reviews and evaluations of student works. The book is also useful to the student: it gives a greater understanding of what thoughts may be in the head of the Professor and the members of the Commission, and most importantly — to understand them. However, a person not from the educational process of the sphere of art or even a person from the art sphere will also find the book interesting: it does not contain complex terms, all the concepts are quite common and easy to Google. You can read it quickly, easily and it leaves a pleasant aftertaste with the desire to act and change the situation as much as you possibly can.

Photo source: Garage Museum website

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Книга-размышление американского историка искусств, арт-критика и профессора Художественного института Чикаго Джеймса Элкинса о том, можно ли научить искусству, какие проблемы существуют в преподавании и обучении искусству, а главное — что можно изменить к лучшему.

Когда я ранней осенью стояла у полки книг издательств Garage и Ad Marginem в библиотеке, выбирая очередную стопку томиков для изучения, я подумала, что эта книга (в старом издании с бело-розовой обложкой) про преподавание искусства в целом: его истории и теории. Мысль, что книга может быть совершенно о другом, даже не приходила в мою голову.

На самом деле эта книга про арт-критиков, но первостепеннее — про художников. Возможно ли научить человека стать художником? А известным художником? А научить так, чтоб человек вошёл в историю человечества в качестве одного из величайших? Спойлер: нет, не получится. Об этом автор рассуждает лишь в третьей главе «Теории», где рассматривает, сравнивает и комментирует разные существующие мнения.

Однако до главы про научение искусству стоит ещё две — «Истории» и «Беседы». В первой Элкинс рассказывает, как на протяжении истории менялось преподавание искусства художникам (в широком понимании) и теоретикам искусства: какие институции и дисциплины существовали, как выстраивался процесс приёма, само обучение и сдача финальной работы. В «Беседах» исторический экскурс дополняется современным опытом со стороны студента и преподавателя. Здесь поднимаются три важных вопроса: о понимании академической свободы, о том, чему именно можно научить, и о разнице между визуальным искусством и остальными дисциплинами.

Критическим разборам посвящены две последние главы. Критика — один из значимых компонентов обучения любой специальности, а творческой и подавно. В четвёртой одноимённой главе речь идёт об устной критике, её парадоксах и вещах, которые делают устную критику одной из самых сложных для формулирования и восприятия. Это предубеждения, малое количество времени, неумение выражать свои мысли, некомпетентность и многое другое. Я бы добавила, что указанные проблемы актуальны так же и для письменных разборов произведений.

В заключительной главе Элкинс даёт рекомендации по улучшению разбора студенческих работ. Их не очень много (всего пять подглав), они различны по своему «весу». Однако каждый из них качественно меняет ответственный этап оценивания работы.

Я считаю, «Почему нельзя научить искусству» полезна в первую очередь преподавателям любой творческой специальности: Джеймс Элкинс даёт стоящие советы для корректных и взвешенных отзывов, критических разборов и оценок студенческих работ. Студенту книга тоже полезна: она даёт большее понимание, какие мысли могут витать в голове у профессора и членов комиссии, а главное — понять их. Впрочем, стороннему от образовательного процесса сферы искусства или вообще чужаку самого искусства тоже будет интересно: книга не содержит сложных терминов, все понятия достаточно распространены и легко гуглятся. Она читается быстро, легко и оставляет приятное послевкусие с желанием действовать и менять ситуацию по мере своих сил.

Источник фото: сайт музея Garage