Why Art cannot be taught

The book is a reflection of the American art historian, art critic and Professor of the Art Institute of Chicago James Elkins about whether it is possible to teach art, what problems exist in teaching and learning art, and most importantly — what can be changed for the better.

Read More

How to prep for the Durer’s, Rembrandt’s and Cranach’s works exhibition

On December 28, the Arkhangelsk Museum of fine arts will open an exhibition of works by Durer, Cranach the Elder and Rembrandt from the collection of the Kaliningrad Museum of fine arts. You can come and just enjoy the art of the masters for sure. But I always recommend attending exhibitions being prepared, even if you are attending an excursion program. How to prepare: what ...

Read More

On Theater by Roland Barthes

Roland Barthes is a French philosopher and literary critic who is considered to be one of the largest representatives of French structuralism. His full-text works “Writing Degree Zero”, “S/Z”, “Mythologies”, “The Fashion system”, as well as the article “The Death of the Author” – this is what first comes to mind or falls out in Google when Barthes is mentioned.

Read More

The Short Story of Art

Let’s be honest, we don’t always have the time and wish to read thick encyclopedias on the history of art to get a general idea and some knowledge you want. In such cases, we refer to different compact editions with the most important information for each period. “The Short Story of Art” is one of them.

Read More

19 books that still matter

From the very first day, when I read my first word, and then the sentence, I passionately loved books. I fell in love with beautiful covers, page designs and especially their scent. However, I was hooked by the feelings that the reader feels at the end of the finished book. Thanks to my huge reading experience (for 17 years of reading in general), I realized ...

Read More

Почему нельзя научить искусству

Книга-размышление американского историка искусств, арт-критика и профессора Художественного института Чикаго Джеймса Элкинса о том, можно ли научить искусству, какие проблемы существуют в преподавании и обучении искусству, а главное — что можно изменить к лучшему.

Read More

Как подготовиться к выставке гравюр Дюрера, Кранаха Старшего и Рембрандта

28 декабря в Архангельском музее изобразительных искусств откроется выставка гравюр Дюрера, Кранаха Старшего и Рембрандта из собрания Калининградского музея изобразительных искусств. Можно прийти и просто насладиться искусством мастеров. Но я всегда рекомендую посещать выставки подготовленными, даже если вы посещаете экскурсионную программу. Как же подготовиться: что читать, что смотреть?

Read More

Барт о театре

Ролан Барт — французский философ и литературовед, которого считают одним из крупнейших представителей французского структурализма. Его полнотекстовые работы «Нулевая степень письма», «S/Z», «Мифологии», «Система моды», а также статья «Смерть автора» — вот, что первым приходит на ум или выпадает в поисковой системе при упоминании Барта.

Read More

Главное в истории искусств

Давайте признаемся себе в горькой правде: не всегда есть время и желание читать огромные тома энциклопедий по истории искусств, но получить общее представление и определённые знания хочется. В таких случаях нас спасают разные компактные издания с самой важной информацией по каждой эпохе. «Главное в истории искусств» — как раз из их числа.

Read More