What you did not know about “The Master and Margarita” by Bulgakov

Rereading the legendary Bulgakov’s novel “The Master and Margarita” after seven years of the first reading, I caught myself thinking that I’m looking at the thoughts embedded in it quite differently. Of course, the backpack of life and literary experience affects, but also (and to a greater extent) the linguistic and philological education that I managed to get during these years. Thanks to the freshly ...

Read More

Wassiliy Kandinsky | 20 selected quotes

Wasily Kandinsky in his treatise “On the spiritual in art”, 1910, expresses his thoughts on the interconnection of the arts, on what the artist and the viewer should look like, on the importance of composition and color in painting. The quotes I have chosen from the treatise make you think about the topics above, that are still relevant today.

Read More

Stupeur et tremblements

Amélie Nothomb is a Belgian writer writing in French. Her father was a diplomat, therefore in her childhood Notomb lived in different countries: Japan, the USA, Laos, Burma, China and Bangladesh which strongly influenced her work. In all, she wrote 23 novels and the most famous “Fear and Trembling” (Stupeur et tremblements) was nominated for Prix Goncourt.

Read More

The Unknown Masterpiece

Honoré de Balzac wrote “The Unknown Masterpiece” in the series of “Philosophical Studies” in 1832. Here he demonstrates himself as a connoisseur of art, but most importantly — a predictor of the development of European art of the late XIX century and the entire twentieth century.

Read More

Marcel Duchamp. The Afternoon Interviews

Imagine that you are holding a magazine that you bought for the sake of an interview with a respected person — pleasure quickly spreads through the blood causing the smile that cannot get off from the face. This effect is born by only a couple of long-awaited pages. Do you understand what a whole book of interviews is capable of doing?

Read More

Что вы не знали о «Мастере и Маргарите»

Перечитывая легендарный роман Булгакова «Мастер и Маргарита» спустя семь лет, я поймала себя на мысли, что смотрю на заложенные в нём мысли совершенно иначе. Конечно, сказывается рюкзак жизненного и литературного опыта на моих плечах, но также (и в большей степени) лингво-филологическое образование, которое я успела получить за прошедшее время. Благодаря свеже полученному филологическому взгляду и умению анализировать литературу как настоящий филолог (золотое правило филолога: обязательно читай ...

Read More

Василий Кандинский | 20 избранных цитат

Василий Кандинский в трактате «О духовном в искусстве» 1910 г. высказывает свои мысли о взаимосвязи искусств, каким должен быть художник и зритель, о важности композиции и цвета в живописи. Выбранные мною цитаты из трактата заставляют задуматься об указанных выше темах, не теряющих актуальности и сегодня.

Read More

Страх и трепет

Амели Нотомб — бельгийская писательница, пишущая на французском языке. Её отец был дипломатом, поэтому в детстве Нотомб жила в разных странах: Японии, США, Лаосе, Бирме, Китае и Бангладеш, — что сильно повлияло на её творчество. Всего она написала 23 романа, а самый знаменитый «Страх и трепет» был номинирован на Гонкуровскую премию.

Read More

Неведомый шедевр

Бальзак написал эту новеллу в рамках цикла «Философские этюды» в 1832 году. В ней он демонстрирует себя в качестве знатока искусства, но главное — предсказателем развития европейского искусства конца XIX века и всего двадцатого столетия.

Read More

Марсель Дюшан. Послеполуденные беседы

Представьте, что вы держите в руках журнал, который купили ради интервью с уважаемой вами личностью, — удовольствие быстро распространяется по крови, заставляя улыбку не сползать с лица. Такой эффект несёт лишь пара долгожданных страниц. Понимаете, что способна сделать целая книга интервью?

Read More