Offret // The Sacrifice

Finally, I discovered the world of creativity of Andrei Tarkovsky! It’s very symbolic that my first experience was the last picture of him — “Sacrifice”, filmed in 1986 in Swedish. Thanks to the Swedish Institute, the film was restored, and the project “Other Cinema” translated it into Russian. Now you can watch it on a big screen in Arkhangelsk.

The existential film is about almost 150 minutes long, that’s not easy to sit through from the physical and psychological sides.

Immediately after watching, I did not understand what I had just seen. Do I like it or not? There are a lot of thoughts, but there are even more questions.

At first glance, you may get the impression that the film is very slow, tedious and meaningless, but this is the charm of this picture. Its “juice” begins to feed you only after a few days.

I have no right to condemn or express hostility towards Tarkovsky’s work (although, we remember that each of us has the right to vote and opinion, which does not coincide with society). It seemed to me that this work was stronger from the technical part rather than the script itself. Aesthetics and frame selection are fascinating. Even if someone thinks that the film has subsided according to the script, the camera work deserves attention and viewing all 150 minutes of the film.

A a weak person in the cinematography, I have noted many symbols and signs, but the meaning of which, alas, remains hidden for me. So, I’m going to read critical articles to understand the essence of the entire film!

In addition, I added to my long list of films obligatory to watch the workds by directors who inspired Tarkovsky himself: Fellini, Bergman, Kurosawa and Bunuel. I brought the most famous works of Andrei Arsenyevich to the same list: “Solaris”, “Stalker”, “Andrei Rublev”, “The Mirror”. As soon as the last film often reflects the ending of the creative career, to announce the same for Tarkovskiy by watching only one film of his is inappropriate, that is why I decided to watch his other works and form my own opinion.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

«Жертвоприношение» Тарковского

Наконец-то я открыла для себя мир творчества Андрея Тарковского! Очень символично, что моим первым опытом стала последняя картина великого режиссёра — «Жертвоприношение», снятое в 1986 году на шведском языке. Благодаря Шведскому институту фильм отреставрировали, а проект «Иное кино», перевёл его на русский язык. Сейчас фильм в прокате на больших экранах, посмотреть его можно и в Архангельске.

Экзистенциальный фильм развернулся на почти 150 минут, которые не легко высидеть. Мягко говоря. И с физической и психологической сторон.

Сразу же после просмотра я не понимала, что только что увидела. Понравилось или нет? Мыслей много, вопросов — ещё больше.

На первый взгляд может сложиться впечатление, что фильм затянут, нуден и бессмыслен, но в этом и заключается шарм этой картины. Её «сок» начинает подпитывать тебя только через несколько дней.

На осуждение или выражение неприязни к творчеству Тарковского я не имею права (хотя, мы помним, что у каждого из нас есть право голоса и мнения, не совпадающего с обществом). Мне показалось, что эта работа сильнее в техническом отношении, нежели в сценарии. Эстетика и выборка ракурса кадров завораживают. Если даже кто-то считает, что по сценарию фильм просел, то операторская работа заслуживает внимания и просмотра всех 150 минут фильма.

Для себя, как человека слабого в кинематографе, я отметила множество символов и знаков, но значение которых, увы, осталось для меня скрытым. Впереди прочтение критических статей до понимания сути всего фильма!

К тому же, я добавила с свой длинный список фильмов обязательных к просмотру режиссёров, которыми вдохновлялся сам Тарковский: Феллини, Бергманом, Куросавой и Бунюэлем. В тот же список я занесла и самые известные работы самого Андрея Арсеньевича: «Солярис», «Сталкер», «Андрей Рублёв», «Зеркало» — последний фильм зачастую отражает действительное окончание творческого пути, но для такого утверждения необходимо сравнение с первыми и лучшими работами.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: