Ekaterina Sharova on the Russian North

Ekaterina is from Arkhangelsk, she studied aesthetics, performance, art history, management of the organization at the University of Oslo and the Norwegian Institute in Rome. Now she is the director of development in Arctic Art Institute, co-curator of Arctic Art Forum that is taking place in Arkhangelsk, as well as a freelance curator who implements projects on art sites in Norway. She gave lectures in NARFU, in the universities of Norway and Finland. Despite many projects, she loves the Russian North and believes that its creative potential is not fully disclosed.

Author: Do you love Arkhangelsk region since childhood?

Ekaterina: What does “love of your country” mean? Perhaps this is due to pride. But how is it grafted? Is it possible to make you love something if you see around the streets that are not well-groomed?

For culture, the heritage of the region known in narrow circles is the potential, an important reference point. Everything goes on its own. If during the Soviet era it was a question of building factories, the dictatorship of the proletariat now the attention is also growing to the non-material potential of the North and the necessity of studying the history of the region immediately becomes obvious. Having visited different cities and countries, it can be useful to look at the usual from the outside and see the unique. It’s amazing that back in the 1980s in Pinega scientists wrote down epics about Ilya Muromets. It’s amazing when you read the ancient visual codes of northern embroideries and murals. For example, in Moscow or St. Petersburg mainly profile specialists know about this but the interest is growing.

A: How did you feel about Arkhangelsk as a child?

E: The opinion that Arkhangelsk is the city from which people have to leave is probably the legacy of a troubled economic situation that began back in the nineties. You grow, and generational complexes are transmitted on an everyday level. This is due to specific fates. On the other hand, the growing attention to the Arctic is the potential for young people to remain. The question is how to build a dialogue between those in Moscow who understand the growing interest in the Arctic and the youngest, especially creative, talented youth? If there is an opportunity to leave when it wants, if there is resources for it, then perhaps more youth would remain in this climate. People working at a rate in the region receive a salary that does not allow them to leave. And if you are young and talented, you want to see the world, you want to develop. Is this not natural?

A: Did you move to Norway or did you know that you are going away for a while and will definitely return to your homeland?

E: In 2004, I just applied for a contest, I was sure that I will not go through. I remember we went to the Norwegian courses, in this building now there is Bulatov’s library. To be honest, I did not have much Norwegian knowledge at that time. Paradoxically, I passed. Then Arkhangelsk was not as it is now, there even were no exchanged students. Therefore, after six months of life as an exchange student, you return and think: ” Oh, my God.” Silver medal, red diploma — and from workplaces was a smart opportunity — something like a dispatcher in a taxi. Well, if there are no jobs and comfortable living conditions for the young and able to live, then there are other cities that can provide all this.

A: Why did you return to Arkhangelsk?

E: Well, I can not say that I’m directly “back.” I’m still a global resident living between Norway and Russia, constantly on the road. When you choose some time to be a freelancer and do your projects, it is more convenient to be in a place where the cost of living is lower. On the other hand, it is interesting to solve challenges that are close, to discover new things in their history.

My colleagues and I are conducting several projects with Moscow and St. Petersburg museums. To inscribe the region in the history of art is a big task, but this is a common, not a private matter. Here the task is not only to bring an exhibition of artists who lived in Spain and the Netherlands more than a hundred years ago. Undoubtedly, it is important to see the masters. But it’s important to remember that the potential Dali and Van Gogh are every day around us. Talented young people are constantly around us, depending on how you get the context, what resources you have and teachers. A lot of talented youth in Arkhangelsk, but repeatedly you are convinced that the most difficult, the best — without support or depression, which causes a sense of horror. Non-standard, talented people want to realize their ideas, but they are often alone, not sure of themselves. For them, there are no conditions — but after all, Dali or Van Gogh in childhood were also non-standard.

The artist needs freedom, creative boiling, the encouragement of intelligent teachers, and not the actions on the order. The development of modern education, which is associated with the development of their own ideas, independent thinking, new forms, which are also related to the needs of society – is the task of subsequent work.

Young people are creative, but when they say “you can not make a mistake”, “do it only like that”, it kills creativity. It is necessary and important to make mistakes, we need to try, this is the process of learning, then a new one appears. Here we are talking not only about art, but also about innovations. Art and innovation have much in common – it’s about the emergence of something that no one has done before.

A: In your opinion, what are the reasons for the absence of art education and the low quality of aesthetic disciplines in the region?

E: Well, not that it would be low, but if contemporary art is Malevich, who lived a hundred years ago, it seems that something is not right … There are schools and secondary education, but this, of course, is not enough if the region has ambitions to declare itself … In Arkhangelsk there was not and still there is no art academy. Important work is being done at the cultural college, plus there was a bachelor’s program in art history in NARFU, but it is no longer there and it’s unclear what is happening with the personnel in the region. Many specialists have an education from St. Petersburg. A lot of interesting things are done, but they need their work, their artists, and there are not many of them yet. Although many proposals for cooperation come from colleagues from capitals, everything is ahead.

A: When did you realize that the Russian North is a real treasure?

E: In 2012, when I graduated from the Master’s Degree in Art History, I started to realize myself as an expert in this field. I arrived then in Arkhangelsk in January 2013, and it was a little funny when the newspaper recommended that “the Norwegian curator came”. Held several seminars in NARFU, where probably 50 people came. There were very interesting discussions. We cooperate with many artists today.

A little later, Swedish artists from the Raketa team wrote to me on Facebook and invited to the Darwin Museum to be moderator at a seminar that took place at the Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art. The museum itself has about two hundred people in the state — and it was bold enough to give the task of moderating the seminar with the participation of the director, representatives of the University of Stockholm. But they offered me, and I had something to say. I was interested in the issues of education and museum mediation — by that time I had worked for several years in art pedagogy and there were a lot of questions. After that there was a talk about the project in the Arkhangelsk region and I proposed the name of the project — “Mobile Institute”, where visitors and local students learn from each other, and he advised colleagues to submit to the program of the Biennial “Manifesta”. It entered the parallel program of the Biennale. Actually, the idea of ​​the Arctic Art Institute grows from here: research, mutual learning, free experiment, development, dynamics.

As a result, an exhibition was made. Artists collected during the trip various artifacts. At the exhibition there were no typical paintings or sculptures — it was a completely new form of artistic expression for Arkhangelsk — an artistically organized archive. The objects were put on ordinary showcases on the shades, themes and texture of the material itself. A sound was recorded during the trip. At the exhibition there was a QR-code that led to the webpage on which you could listen to the audio collected in the research expedition.

A: Have you traveled in our region before?

E: I was in Pinega and even in Emetsk, where my parents come from. You seem to live in your region, but you do not know it … We went to Ustiany, Kotlas. It was beautiful, new discoveries. We also went to Solvychegodsk with the “Mobile Institute”. In Moscow there is the Stroganov Academy, and in Solvychegodsk the Stroganovs had its own patrimony. Interesting objects are in this small museum. With the advent of social networks, many began to study their history, of which there were not so many before and knew.

Here many churches were demolished, this was not even in Vologda. My friend and I went there when we were still in the second year. Especially memorable was the St. Sophia Cathedral. I will never forget the trip to Veliky Novgorod. I was struck by what I saw there in museums: elements of ancient wooden pavements in the archaeological museum – after all, in Arkhangelsk, you can still find this way of covering roads — for example, on the islands.

Until the XI-XIII century. in the North lived Chud’ Zavolochskayaб now this nation is called “Veps”. Recently colleagues in Petrozavodsk advised a young Vepsian artist. So interesting! Vepsian language is listed by UNESCO in the register of endangered languages. No one is involved in the art of Veps, and the artist was disappointed in everything and abandoned his work. What is the difference from Norway, where they understand that artists use their senses to process and recreate the meanings of the place! Modern art is associated with the meanings that were cleaned during the Soviet Union. This attitude to their own talented people is simply inexplicable.

In the twenties of the last century researcher Voronov wrote about peasant art. These years, despite their complexity, were the most progressive in the history of the culture of the USSR, they know about Malevich and Tatlin all over the world. Voronov, possessing a wide outlook and a great interest in folk art, in fact predicts to some extent what later Joseph Beuys says: “Every man is an artist.” Boise, unlike Warhol, is little known in Russia, but this is a very important figure in the history of twentieth-century art.

A: Does the city have a chance to get rid of the idea of ​​”you have to leave this town”?

E: There are cities where no one talks about it — but it’s fun, there are places to meet talented people. For capable people to stay, they need opportunities for development, jobs, a comfortable environment and a quality of life. The question is what is happening in Murmansk and Arkhangelsk: what opportunities will be provided to local talented youth, primarily creative professions? Will competencies related to design, sculpture, architecture be developed? What will be the pace of infrastructure development? So far, the bus station of Arkhangelsk has no site, stops on the Sea-river are not signed, the city’s public transport schemes are not clear to the visitor. In the districts of the region there are many unique objects of wooden architecture. How can a tourist from Moscow get there? However, the changes are taking place, a lot of information can be found on the excellent website of Archangelsk tourist information center. In any case, everything changes.

A: So the city has a future?

E: It’s obvious. This is just the beginning.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Екатерина Шарова о Русском Севере

Екатерина родом из Архангельска, изучала эстетику, перформанс, историю искусства, управление организацией в Университете Осло и Норвежском институте в Риме. Сейчас она — директор по развитию Arctic Art Institute, со-куратор Arctic Art Forum, проходящего в Архангельске, а также фриланс-куратор, реализующий проекты на художественных площадках Норвегии. Читала лекции в САФУ, в вузах Норвегии и Финляндии. Несмотря на множество проектов, любит Русский Север и считает, что его творческий потенциал раскрыт не до конца.

Автор: Ты с детства любила наш край?

Екатерина: Что значит «любовь к своему краю»? Наверное, это связано с гордостью. Но каким образом это прививается? Возможно ли заставить любить что-то, если вокруг ты видишь неухоженные улицы?

Для культуры известное в узких кругах наследие региона — это потенциал, важная точка отсчёта. Всё идёт само по себе. Если в советское время речь шла о строительстве заводов, диктатуре пролетариата, то сейчас растёт внимание и к нематериальному потенциалу Севера, и тут же очевидной становится необходимость изучения истории края. Побывав в различных городах и странах, может быть полезно посмотреть на привычное со стороны и увидеть уникальное. Поразительно, что еще в 1980-е годы на Пинеге записывали былины про Илью Муромца. Удивительно, когда ты читаешь древние визуальные коды северных вышивок и росписей. В Москве или Санкт-Петербурге, к примеру, об этом знают, в основном, профильные специалисты, но интерес растёт.

А: Как ты относилась к Архангельску в детстве?

Е: Мнение о том, что Архангельск — город, откуда уезжают, — по всей видимости, наследие проблемной экономической ситуации, начавшейся ещё в девяностые. Ты растёшь, и поколенческие комплексы передаются на каждодневном уровне. Это связано с конкретными судьбами. С другой стороны, растущее внимание к Арктике — это потенциал для того, чтобы молодёжь оставалась. Вопрос в том, каким образом выстраивать диалог между теми, кто понимает растущий интерес к Арктике, в Москве, и самой молодёжью, особенно творческой, талантливой молодежью? Если есть возможность уезжать, когда захочется, если есть на это ресурсы, то, возможно, больше молодёжи оставалось бы в этом климате. Люди, работающие на ставке в регионе, получают такую зарплату, которая не позволяет им уезжать. А если ты молод и талантлив, ты хочешь посмотреть мир, ты хочешь развиваться. Разве это не естественно?

А: Ты переезжала в Норвегию или знала, что уезжаешь на время и обязательно вернёшься на родину?

Е: В 2004 году я просто подала заявку на какой-то конкурс, была уверена, что не пройду. Я помню, мы ходили на курсы норвежского, в этом здании сейчас находится библиотека Булатова. Если честно, знание норвежского у меня было к тому времени не очень. Парадоксальным образом, я прошла. Тогда Архангельск не был таким, как сейчас, даже студентов по обмену не было. Поэтому после полугода жизни в качестве студентки по обмену возвращаешься и думаешь: «Боже мой». Серебряная медаль, красный диплом — а из рабочих мест была шикарная возможность — что-то типа диспетчера в такси. Ну, и если для молодых и способных нет рабочих мест и комфортных условий проживания, то есть другие города, которые это всё могут предоставить.

Фото: Эдуард Микрюков

А: Зачем же ты вернулась в Архангельск?

Е: Ну, не могу сказать, что я прямо «вернулась». Я всё же глобальный резидент, живу между Норвегией и Россией, постоянно в разъездах. Когда ты выбираешь некоторое время быть фрилансером и делать свои проекты, то удобнее находиться в месте, где стоимость жизни ниже.  С другой стороны, интересно решать вызовы, которые близки, открывать новое в своей истории.

Мы с коллегами ведём несколько проектов с московскими и петербургскими музеями. Вписать регион в историю искусства — это большая задача, но это же общее, а не частное дело. Здесь же задача не только в том, чтобы привезти выставку художников, живших в Испании и Нидерландах более ста лет назад. Несомненно, это важно — видеть мастеров. Но важно помнить, что потенциальные Дали и Ван Гог — каждый день вокруг нас. Талантливая молодёжь постоянно вокруг нас, зависит от того, в какой ты попадёшь контекст, какие у тебя ресурсы и учителя. Много талантливой молодежи в Архангельске, но неоднократно убеждаешься, что самые сложные, самые лучшие — без поддержки или в депрессии, что вызывает чувство ужаса. Нестандартные, талантливые люди хотят реализовывать свои идеи, но они часто одиноки, не уверены в себе. Для них нет условий — но ведь Дали или Ван Гог в детстве тоже были нестандартными.

Художнику нужна свобода, творческое кипение, поощрение умных педагогов, а не действия по разнарядке. Развитие современного образования, которое связано с развитием собственных идей, независимым мышлением, новыми формами, которые к тому же связаны с потребностями общества — это задача последующей работы.

Молодёжь — творческая, но, когда ей говорят «ошибаться нельзя», «делай только так», это убивает креативность. Нужно и важно ошибаться, нужно пробовать, именно это и есть процесс обучения, именно тогда появляется новое. Здесь мы говорим не только об искусстве,  но и об инновациях. Искусство и инновации имеют много общего — речь о возникновении того, чего раньше никто не делал.

А: На твой взгляд, каковы причины отсутствия искусствоведческого образования и низкого качества эстетических дисциплин в регионе?

Е: Ну так не то что бы оно низкое, но если современное искусство — это Малевич, который жил сто лет назад, то кажется, что что-то тут не то… Есть школы и среднее образование, но этого, конечно, недостаточно, если у региона есть амбиции заявлять о себе… В Архангельске не было и до сих пор нет художественной академии. Важная работа ведется в культурном колледже, плюс была бакалаврская программа по искусствоведению в САФУ, но её больше нет и непонятно, что с кадрами в регионе. Многие специалисты имеют образование из  Санкт-Петербурга. Очень много всего интересного делается, но нужны свои работы, свои художники, а их пока совсем не много. Хотя множество предложений о сотрудничестве поступает от коллег из столиц, всё впереди.

А: Когда ты осознала, что Русский Север — настоящий клад?

Е: В 2012 году, когда я закончила магистратуру по истории искусства, начала осознавать себя как специалист в этой сфере. Я приехала тогда в Архангельск в январе 2013 года, и было немного забавно, когда газета отрекомендовала, что «приехал норвежский куратор». Провела несколько семинаров в САФУ, куда пришло человек  пятьдесят, наверное. Были очень интересные дискуссии. Со многими художниками мы сегодня сотрудничаем.

Чуть позднее шведские художники из коллектива Raketa написали мне в Facebook, пригласили в Дарвиновский музей быть модератором на семинаре, который проходил на Московской биеннале современного искусства. У самого музея человек двести в штате — и было достаточно смело дать задачу модерации семинара с участием директора, представителей Университета Стокгольма. Но мне предложили, и мне было что сказать. Меня интересовали вопросы образования и музейной медиации — к тому времени я поработала несколько лет в арт-педагогике и было множество вопросов. После шла речь о проекте в Архангельской области и я предложила название проекта — «Мобильный институт», где приезжие и местные учатся друг у друга, и его же посоветовала коллегам подать в программу биеннале «Манифеста». Он вошел в параллельную программу биеннале. Собственно, идея Arctic Art Institute отсюда и вырастает: исследование,  взаимное обучение, свободный эксперимент, развитие, динамика.

По итогам была сделана выставка. Художники собрали за время поездки различные артефакты. На выставке не оказалось привычных картин или скульптур — это была совершенно новая для Архангельска форма художественного высказывания — художественно организованный архив. Объекты были расположены на обычных витринах по оттенкам, тематике и фактуре самого материла. Ещё  во время поездки был записан звук. На выставке был QR-код, перейдя по которому на сайт, можно было послушать аудио, собранное в исследовательской экспедиции.

Фото: Екатерина Чащина

А: До этого ты ездила по области?

Е: В Пинегу, и ещё в Емецк, откуда родители родом. Вот вроде бы в своём регионе живёшь, а его не знаешь… Мы поехали в Устьяны, Котлас. Это было красиво, новые открытия. Ездили в Сольвычегодск также с «Мобильным институтом». В Москве есть Строгановская академия, а в Сольвычегодске у Строгановых была своя вотчина. Интересные объекты находятся в этом маленьком музее. С появлением соцсетей многие начали изучать свою историю, о которой раньше не так уж много и знали.

Здесь столько церквей снесли, такого даже в Вологде не было. Мы с подругой съездили туда, когда были ещё на втором курсе. Особенно запомнился Софийский собор. Никогда не забуду поездку в Великий Новгород. Поразило то, что увидела там в музеях: элементы древних деревянных мостовых в археологическом музее — ведь в Архангельске все еще можно найти этот способ покрытия дорог — например, на островах.

До XI-XIII в. на территории Севера жила чудь заволочская, сейчас эта народность называется «вепсы». Недавно коллеги в Петрозаводске посоветовали молодого вепсского художника. Настолько интересно! Вепсский язык занесён ЮНЕСКО в реестр исчезающих языков. Никто искусством вепсов не занимается, а художник разочаровался во всем и забросил работу. Какое отличие от Норвегии, где понимают, что художники при помощи своих органов чувств перерабатывают и создают заново смыслы места! Современное искусство связано со смыслами, которые были вычищены во время Советского Союза. Такое отношение к собственным талантливым людям просто необъяснимо.

В двадцатые годы прошлого века исследователь Воронов писал о крестьянском искусстве. Эти годы, несмотря на их сложность, были самыми прогрессивными в истории культуры СССР, во всём мире знают о Малевиче, Татлине. Воронов, обладая широким кругозором и огромным интересом к народному искусству, по сути предсказывает в некоей степени то, что позднее скажет Йозеф Бойс: «каждый человек является художником». Бойса, в отличие от Уорхола, мало знают в России, но это очень важная фигура в истории искусства двадцатого века.

А: Есть ли у города шанс избавиться от идеи «надо валить»?

Е:  Есть города, где никто не говорит про это — но там весело, там есть места для встречи талантливых людей. Чтобы способные люди оставались, нужны для них возможности для развития, рабочие места, нужна комфортная среда и качество жизни. Вопрос в том, что происходит в Мурманске и Архангельске: какие возможности будут предоставлены местной талантливой молодежи, прежде всего творческих профессий? Будут ли развиваться компетенции, связанные с дизайном, скульптурой, архитектурой? Каковы будут темпы развития инфраструктуры? Пока что у автовокзала Архангельска нет сайта, остановки на Морском-речном не подписаны, приезжему непонятны городские схемы общественного транспорта. В районах области — много уникальных объектов деревянной архитектуры. Как туристу из Москвы туда попасть? Впрочем, изменения происходят, много информации можно узнать на отличном сайте ТИЦ Архангельска.  В любом случае, всё меняется.

А: То есть у города есть будущее?

Е: Это очевидно. Это только начало.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: