6 habits that will make your year more concious

Photo: Elena Sharapova

I do not pretend that the habits, resolutions and routines mentioned in this post will drastically change your life and your personality. The following 6 things are designed to improve the quality of your spiritual life and contribute to a more faithful educational development, in particular, the speed and depth of learning new knowledge. Of course, we are not talking about exact or natural sciences, although everyone can find recipes for themselves in these areas — I concentrate more on culture and art.

yoga and/or meditation

It is said a lot about the benefits of meditation for mental health, so I will not bother you with this topic. I will only note from my experience that yoga in some way can replace meditation, but not completely. The combination of daily yoga and meditation is the secret of peace and spiritual harmony.

I practice yoga every day at 8 am (there are some skips on the weekends) for a year, and every time after a class I notice how the head is literally cleared of obsessive and unnecessary thoughts, focuses on important matters. I also started meditating from this year whenever possible: half-hour of non-movement is not available every day. Unfortunately. For a person who writes many different texts in different languages ​​every day practice is a vital necessity.

Doing sports

I perceive sports and youga seperately, because yoga and sport are completely different things (yoga is not the same as fitness!). By the beginning of 2019, hundreds of scientific articles have been released around the world confirming that physical activity enhances the cognitive abilities of the brain. In addition, it has a positive effect on health and external beauty (good shape of the body, etc.). Have you decided to go to the gym as a New Year’s resolution for 2019? It is high time to do that! This can be both strength training in the gym, and cardio workouts, group classes and regular 15 minutes at home with the equipment at hand.

Again about myself: I have strength training once a week and cardio training at least once a week, I do not attend group exercises.

studying philosophy and/or psychology 

I am convinced that all pressing questions about Being, self-organization and self-development are rooted in philosophy and psychology. Philosophy teaches to think, to analyze, to draw conclusions and to argue, it develops intelligence. Psychology helps to understand oneself and others, analyze current situations and find the necessary solutions. Of course, it would be possible to read one or two classic books on the self-development of new-fangled authors, but critical thinking will not develop in this way. Moreover, it’s nice to talk about Socrates’s teachings and Heidegger’s ideas, Carnegie’s thoughts and Freud’s theory, having learned the information from the original source.

About me: I began to study philosophy, which in my student years was behind seven seals — with the years the understanding clearly comes.

reading intellectual books and wathcing complex films

They equally develop mental and analytical processes. The only difference is that the task here is to search for hidden meanings between the lines and expose the symbols of the work. Such literature / films can be both a means for recreation and mental work — you decide how it is going to look like.

After almost two years of getting master’s degree in literature, I will not take a “light” book — I know in advance that I will read it, but will not receive anything at the output. Why do I need such a waste of time? Similarly, with the films — while entertaining, it should give certain thoughts.

writing notes

Writing quotes from fiction books, abstracts of scientific works in a notebook or electronic medium — that’s what you definitely should try this year. Reading becomes conscious, memory is added to understanding. Who knows when this information will be useful to you? Authoritative and reliable information should always be at hand.

I always take note of the literature on cultural studies, history of art and philosophy, at least in order to use quotes in writing articles if necessary. By the way, in the disputes the statements that I had written down were used more than once.

learning new foreign language and culture

It develops horizons, thinking and understanding of the structure of the world. It gives additional opportunities in the present and unforeseen future. It makes life easier when traveling and helps the brain stay young. In short, it is an important component. You should not avoid the socio-cultural aspects of the country of the language being studied — they contribute to the deep learning of grammar and vocabulary, understanding of the realities.

Being fluent in two foreign languages, I do not limit myself only to them — in plans to start speaking at least two more.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

6 привычек, которые сделают ваш год осознаннее

Фото: Елена Шарапова

Я не претендую на то, что привычки, резолюции и рутины, описанные в этой записи, кардинально изменят вашу жизнь и вас, как личность. Указанные далее 6 вещей призваны улучшить качество вашей духовной жизни и способствовать более верному образовательному развитию, в частности скорости и глубине усвоения новых знаний. Конечно же, речь не идёт про точные или естественные науки, хотя каждый может найти для себя рецепты и для этих сфер, — я же концентрируюсь в большей степени на культуре и искусстве.

Йога и/или медитация

О пользе медитации для ментального здоровья сказал уже каждый, кому только не лень — надоедать вам этим и я не буду. Отмечу лишь из своего опыта: йога в некотором роде может заменить медитацию, но не полностью. Комбинация ежедневной йоги и медитации — секрет спокойствия и душевной гармонии.

Я практикую йогу каждый день в 8 утра (в выходные бывают пропуски) уже год, и каждый раз после занятия замечаю, как голова буквально очищается от навязчивых и ненужных мыслей, фокусируется на важных делах. Начинаю и медитировать с этого года по возможности: получасовая неподвижность доступна далеко не каждый день. Для человека, который каждый день пишет множество разнообразных текстов на разных языках — жизненная необходимость.

Занятия спортом

Выносятся отдельно, поскольку йога и спорт — абсолютно разные вещи (йога не должна восприниматься как фитнес!). К началу 2019 года в мире выпущены сотни исследований, подтверждающих, что физическая активность повышает когнитивные способности мозга. К тому же, положительно отражается на здоровье и внешней красоте (подтянутость тела и т.д.). Вы ведь записали походы в зал в новогодние резолюции? Время выполнять! Это могут быть как силовые тренировки в тренажёрном зале, так и кардио-тренировки, групповые занятия и обычные 15 минут дома с подручными материалами.

Опять же о себе: силовые тренировки раз в неделю, кардио — минимум один раз в неделю, групповые не посещаю.

Изучение философии и/или психологии

Я убеждена, что все насущные вопросы о Бытии, самоорганизации и саморазвитии кроются в философии и психологии. Философия учит мыслить, анализировать, делать выводы и спорить, развивает сообразительность. Психология помогает понимать себя и окружающих, анализировать сложившиеся ситуации и находить нужные решения. Конечно, можно было бы прочитать одну-две классические книги по саморазвитию новомодных авторов, но так не будет развиваться критическое мышление. Более того, приятно ведь рассказывать об учениях Сократа и идеях Хайдеггера, мыслях Карнеги и теории Фрейда, узнав информацию из первоисточника.

О себе: начала изучение философии, которая в ещё студенческие годы была за семью печатями — с годами явно приходит понимание.

Чтение интеллектуальной литературы и просмотр сложных фильмов

В равной мере развивают мыслительные и аналитические процессы. Разница лишь в том, что здесь работа заключается в поиске скрытых смыслов между строк и разоблачении символов произведения. Такая литература/кино может быть как средством для отдыха, так и умственной работой — решать вам.

Я же после почти двух лет магистратуры по литературе не возьму «лёгкую» книгу — заранее знаю, что я прочитаю, а на выходе ничего не получу. Зачем такое времяпровождение? Точно так же и с кино — развлекая, оно должно поучать и наводить на определённые мысли.

Ведение конспектов

Выписывание цитат из художественной литературы, конспекты научных трудов в тетрадь или электронный носитель — вот, что вы однозначно должны попробовать. Чтение становится осознанным, к пониманию добавляется память. Кто знает, когда вам пригодится полученная информация в диалоге? Под рукой всегда должны быть авторитетные и достоверные сведения.

Я всегда конспектирую литературу по культурологии, истории искусства и философии хотя бы для того, чтобы потом по необходимости использовать цитаты в написании статей. К слову, в спорах выписанные утверждения пригодились уже не раз.

Изучение иностранного языка и культуры

Развивает кругозор, мышление и понимание устройства мира. Даёт дополнительные возможности в настоящем и непредвиденном будущем. Значительно облегчает жизнь во время путешествий и помогает мозгу оставаться молодым. Одним словом, важный компонент. Не стоит обходить стороной социо-культурные аспекты страны изучаемого языка — они способствуют глубинному усвоению грамматики и лексики, пониманию реалий.

Владея двумя иностранными языками, я не ограничиваю себя только ими — в планах начать говорить как минимум на двух других.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: