Must-see places and things in Vologda, Russia

Vologda is a city with an 800-year history, where the letter O is so strongly loved that even a monument was dedicated to it. Speaking seriously, this city is worthy of your attention, at least for the weekend. Actually, in this post you will learn what to do in Vologda for a couple of days.

WOODEN ARCHITECTURE

The first thing that catches your eye is the number of well-preserved wooden houses of the 18th-19th centuries scattered all over the city center. These houses are not demolished and rebuilt, as the government does in Arkhangelsk, but the buildings are restored with the preservation of every tiny detail. Some buildings stand out for their openwork, some for their simplicity, but they are not covered with huge advertising banners, which means that you can really enjoy the architecture of ancient Vologda.

VOLOGDA REGIONAL Painting GALLERY

In the city there are several places where you can get acquainted with the work of local (and not only) artists, but especially I would recommend Shalamovsky’s house in the Vologda Kremlin. An ideal place to learn about the work and life of Shalamov, as well as see the paintings by Polenov, Aivazovsky, Ekster, Korovin, Vrubel, Savrasov, Kuindzhi, Levitan, etc. Please note that Monday and Tuesday are days off.

Vologda Kremlin

A must-see place, especially since it will not take long time. It is enough just to walk along the embankment, look at the famous Vologda statues (letter O, bench, etc.), climb up the bell tower and look at the panorama of the city, feed the ducks in the pond and ride on the Soviet roundabouts. If you want, you can visit St. Sophia Cathedral. Please note that Monday and Tuesday are days off, and you can climb to the top of the bell tower only in good weather.

River stroll

Unfortunately, this can only be done in the summer, but the stroll will give a fresh look at the city. Firstly, it varies the activities. Secondly, it gives a fresh look at the city. Thirdly, it is the opportunity to look at those places where you do not want to go specifically, such as the house of Peter the Great or the monument to the 800th anniversary of Vologda.

LENKOM

The cinema, which retained its Soviet name and hall, but shows modern films in comfortable chairs. Probably, many of us have lost the habit of watching premieres on giant screens? This is your chance to plunge into childhood. I advise you to take places after the 12th row.

Linen clothes shops

Even if shopping is not part of your plans, you can still go to one department at least. Especially if you take into account that clothes and household items made from linen are cheap enough, but they are of high quality. I highly recommend the little shop on Victory Avenue, 4.

ORTHODOX CHURCHES

Even if you do not adhere to the Orthodox religion, then still pay attention to the naturalness of the churches. By this I mean their “fitness” to nature, as if the temples themselves grew from under the earth. There are not so many churches in the center of the city, but still it is worth paying attention to their decoration and architectural details, because some were built in the distant XV century.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

1 понравилось

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Что посмотреть: Вологда

Вологда — город с 800-летней историей, где так сильно любят букву О, что даже памятник ей поставили. Если без шуток — этот небольшой город достоин вашего внимания, хотя бы на выходные. Собственно, о том, чем занять себя в Вологде на пару дней и пойдёт речь далее.

Деревянное зодчество

Первое, что попадается на глаза — количество хорошо сохранённых деревянных домов XVIII-XIX веков, разбросанных по всему центру города. Эти дома не сносят и перестраивают, как делают в Архангельске, а реставрируют, сохраняя каждую мелочь. Какие-то здания выделяются своей ажурностью, какие-то простотой, но на них не встретишь огромные рекламные баннеры, а значит, можно по-настоящему насладиться архитектурой древней Вологды.

Вологодская областная картинная галерея

В городе есть несколько мест, где можно познакомиться с творчеством местных (и не только) художников, но особенно я бы порекомендовала Шаламовский дом в Вологодском кремле. Идеальное место, чтобы узнать о творчестве и жизни Шаламова, а также посмотреть работы Поленова, Айвазовского, Экстер, Коровина, Врубеля, Саврасова, Куинджи, Левитана и др. Обратите внимание, что понедельник и вторник — выходные.

Вологодский кремль

Обязательное место для посещения, тем более что не займёт много времени. Достаточно лишь прогуляться вдоль набережной, посмотреть на знаменитые  вологодские статуи (буква О, скамейка и др.), подняться вверх по колокольне и посмотреть на панораму города, покормить уточек в пруду и покататься на советских каруселях. При желании можно посетить Софийский собор. Обратите внимание, что понедельник — выходной, а забраться на верх колокольни можно при хорошей погоде.

Речная прогулка

К сожалению, это можно сделать только в летнее время, но прогулка подарит свежий взгляд на город. Во-первых, разнообразие деятельности. Во-вторых, свежий взгляд на город. В-третьих, возможность посмотреть на те места, куда не хочется специально идти, как например, домик Петра I или памятник 800-летию Вологды.

Ленком

Кинотеатр, сохранивший своё советское название и холл, но показывающий современные фильмы в удобных креслах. Наверное, многие отвыкли смотреть премьеры на гигантских экранах? Это ваш шанс окунуться в детство. Советую брать места после 12 ряда.

Магазины одежды из льна

Если даже шопинг не входит в ваши планы, то всё же сходить хотя бы в один отдел можно. Особенно, если учитывать, что одежда и домашние принадлежности из льна там достаточно дешёвые, но при этом качественные. Очень рекомендую магазинчик на проспекте Победы, 4.

Православные церкви

Даже если вы не придерживаетесь православной религии, то всё равно обратите внимание на естественность церквей. Этим я имею ввиду их «вписываемость» в природу, будто бы храмы сами выросли из-под земли. Церквей не так много в центре города, но всё же стоит обратить внимание на их отделку и архитектурные детали, ведь некоторые были построены в далёком XV в.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

1 понравилось

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: