Yoga Retreat in the Crimea, Russia

The first time I did yoga was about two years ago. At that time I managed to attend not more than 12 classes (2-3 per week) and decided that yoga is not for me. In January 2018, with the opening of a new fitness club near my home, I went there and tried yoga again. Started with one or two times a week, I came up to the need of daily classes, and now more than one hour a day.

And so, from 12 to 22 July, together with the teacher Olya Pervukhina from this fitness club, I went to my first yoga retreat — to the Crimea, to Cape Fiolent.

Our daily practices included morning pranayama and practice of Hatha yoga with an emphasis on strength positions (duration 1.5-2 hours), evening practice an emphasis on meditative positions (duration 1-1.5 hours) and meditation before bedtime (30-45 minutes).

Expectations were different: I will sleep over all morning practices, I will not cope with holding the positions (from two to ten minutes depending on a position!), I will be lazy and even worse — I will understand that the teacher’s course, which I am going to next year, will be impossible for me. Fortunately, none of this happened. Even more, I realized that I’m going in the right direction, and the 300 YTT in India will be within my powers.

I must admit, sometimes the amount of practices and their duration seemed not enough for me — time flew by, the body did not hurt and was always ready for classes. A couple of days later, after talking with Svetlana Gorbunova, one of the best yoga teachers in the Crimea, I realized that on this retreat I lacked lectures on Ayurveda, nutrition, philosophy of yoga. However, even this immersion in the world of yoga through two practices a day, pranayama and meditation is a very good experience, which should be maximally adapted to everyday life. Exactly the same as many kilometers of walking on a flat or mountain surface during trips, excursions and descents to the beach.

By the way, speaking about excursions. At Cape Fiolent there are two classical excursions for those who are on yoga retreat: to the Temple of the Sun and mountain Ilyas-Kaya, as well as to the “Bead temple” (cave monastery Kachi-Kalyon). These places, like the Cape Fiolent itself, are filled with unreal energy and power that gives harmony in soul and body. Getting up at 5 am there is easier, the body wakes up on its own. Being at the moment in Simferopol, it is very difficult to get up that early — the wish to stay in bed is strong.

***

I think that everyone who practices yoga regardless of his or her experience should go to yoga retreat. For me, this trip once again proved the following points:

  • no need to be afraid of handstands and headstands — gradually go to your goal through daily practices, each time trying to do better;
  • never jump into a position; first feel it, understand how the body should work;
  • nutrition is a critical component of the practitioner;
  • meditation — you don’t just sit without movement listening to the sounds of nature — you do a lot of work on your mind, which greatly helps in the practice of positions;
  • good stretching and flexibility is only a third of the practice;
  • doing asanas with a partner and at the wall is a good addition to opening the position.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Йога ретрит в Крыму

Первый раз я занялась йогой около двух лет назад. Тогда я выдержала в сумме не более 12 занятий (2-3 в неделю) и распрощалась с этим направлением физической активности, считая, что йога не для меня. В январе 2018 года с открытием нового фитнес-клуба недалеко от дома, я пришла туда и решила попробовать йогу вновь. Начав с одного или двух раз в неделю я пришла к потребности ежедневных занятий, а теперь и не по одному часу в день.

И вот, с 12 по 22 июля, вместе с учителем Олей Первухиной из этого фитнес-клуба, я отправилась в свой первый ретрит — в Крым, на мыс Фиолент.

Наши ежедневные практики включали: утренняя пранаяма и практика позиций хатха-йоги с уклоном на силовые элементы (в сумме 1.5-2 часа), вечерняя практика позиций с медитативным уклоном (1-1.5 часа) и медитация перед сном (30-45 минут).

Ожидания были разными: просплю все утренние практики, не справлюсь с занятиями (с долгими удержаниями от двух до десяти минут в зависимости от позиции!), буду лениться и работать для «показухи»; ещё хуже — пойму, что учительский курс, на который я собираюсь в следующем году, окажется для меня невыполнимым. К счастью, ничего этого не случилось. Даже больше: я поняла, что иду верным направлением, и учительский курс будет мне по силам.

Признаться, порой мне казалась маленькой продолжительность наших практик и их количество — время пролетало незаметно, тело не болело и всегда было готово к занятиям. Пару дней спустя, пообщавшись со Светланой Горбуновой, одним из лучших учителей йоги в Крыму, я поняла, что мне не хватало на ретрите и лекций по аюрведе, питанию, философии йоги. Впрочем, даже такое погружение в мир йоги посредством двух практик в день, пранаямы и медитации — очень хороший опыт, который стоит максимально адаптировать в повседневную жизнь. Ровно так же, как и многокилометровые пешие прогулки по ровной или горной поверхности во время поездок, экскурсий и спусков на пляж.

К слову, об экскурсиях. На мысе Фиолент для йога ретритов классическими являются две: к Храму Солнца и горе Ильяс-Кая, а также к «Бисерному храму» (пещерному монастырю Качи-Кальон). Эти места, как и сам мыс, наполнены нереальной энергетикой и силой, которая дарит гармонию в душе и теле. Вставать в 5 утра там — легче лёгкого, организм просыпается самостоятельно. Будучи на данный момент в Симферополе, продолжать так рано вставать очень тяжело, так и тянет подольше понежиться в кроватке.

***

Считаю, что каждому, кто практикует йогу вне зависимости от «стажа», стоит съездить на йога ретрит. Для меня эта поездка лишний раз доказала следующие моменты:

  • не нужно бояться стоек на руках и голове — постепенно иди к своей цели через ежедневные практики, каждый раз пытаясь сделать лучше;
  • никогда не запрыгивай в позицию; вначале почувствуй её, пойми, как должно работать тело;
  • питание — критически важный компонент практикующего;
  • медитация — не просто сидеть без движений под звуки природы, а делать большую работу над своим сознанием, которая сильно помогает в практике позиций;
  • хорошая растяжка и гибкость — лишь треть всей практики;
  • выполнение асан с партнёром и у стены — хорошее дополнение к раскрытию в позиции.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: