• Mezen Painting on Wood

    Today there is a high interest in arts and crafts in general, but in particular — to folk paintings. In Russia, different types of folf painting exist: on wood, lacquer, metal, enamel, glass and ceramics, and there is a variety of traditional and modern techniques.

    Painting on wood is considered as the most national and original form of Russian folk art. Russia is rich in forests, so wood was used in many ways: from the manufacture of household products and artistic processing to the construction of houses. This is especially true of the Russian North, the Upper and Middle Volga, the Urals and Siberia.

    The Russian North is considered to be a real treasure trove of Russian folk culture, and some researchers even consider it a single cultural monument. One of the easily recognizable paintings of the Russian North — Mezen painting.

    Read More

  • Wassiliy Kandinsky | 20 selected quotes

    Wasily Kandinsky in his treatise “On the spiritual in art”, 1910, expresses his thoughts on the interconnection of the arts, on what the artist and the viewer should look like, on the importance of composition and color in painting. The quotes I have chosen from the treatise make you think about the topics above, that are still relevant today.

    Read More

• Мезенская роспись

    Сегодня высок интерес к декоративно-прикладному искусству (далее — ДПИ) вообще, но в частности — к росписям. В России выполняют росписи по дереву, лаку, металлу, эмали, стеклу и керамике, а разнообразных техник, традиционных и современных, — огромное количество.

    Роспись по дереву считается наиболее национальным и самобытным видом русского ДПИ. Наша страна богата лесами, древесину использовали многогранно: от изготовления бытовых изделий и художественной обработки до строительства домов. Это особенно характерно для территории Русского Севера, Верхнего и Среднего Поволжья, Урала и Сибири.

    Русский Север считается настоящей сокровищницей русской народной культуры, а некоторые исследователи даже считают его единым памятником культуры. Одна из легко узнаваемых росписей Русского Севера — мезенская. Читать далее

  • Чёрный цвет в истории европейского искусства

    Каземир Малевич. Чёрный супрематический квадрат. 1915

    Чёрный — это тоже цвет

    — заявление, сделанное на знаменитой выставке галереи Маг, в 1946 г. в Париже.

    Читать далее

  • Василий Кандинский | 20 избранных цитат

    Василий Кандинский в трактате «О духовном в искусстве» 1910 г. высказывает свои мысли о взаимосвязи искусств, каким должен быть художник и зритель, о важности композиции и цвета в живописи. Выбранные мною цитаты из трактата заставляют задуматься об указанных выше темах, не теряющих актуальности и сегодня.
    Читать далее