In the Labyrinth

A soldier, stiffened in the winter cold and tired, is waiting for someone near the lantern under the incessant snowfall. In his hands he holds a box wrapped in paper with something inside; he must pass it on to someone. He does not remember any details of the meeting: where, when and with whom it should take place; he does not remember anything about himself: ...

Read More

When I Was a Work of Art

Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt is a contemporary French writer, known as the author of a number of easy-to-read books, but, nevertheless, filled with deep philosophical meaning. One can even say that each of his works is a philosophical parable that raises at least one global problem of being: what is life, death, God and religion. His novel “How I Was a Work of Art” was written in ...

Read More

Stupeur et tremblements

Amélie Nothomb is a Belgian writer writing in French. Her father was a diplomat, therefore in her childhood Notomb lived in different countries: Japan, the USA, Laos, Burma, China and Bangladesh which strongly influenced her work. In all, she wrote 23 novels and the most famous “Fear and Trembling” (Stupeur et tremblements) was nominated for Prix Goncourt.

Read More

The Unknown Masterpiece

Honoré de Balzac wrote “The Unknown Masterpiece” in the series of “Philosophical Studies” in 1832. Here he demonstrates himself as a connoisseur of art, but most importantly — a predictor of the development of European art of the late XIX century and the entire twentieth century.

Read More

The Confession of a Child of the Century | 11 selected quotes

At the time of writing this post, I had just finished reading the novel “The Confession of a Child of the Century” by Alfred de Musset. It is the first book by this author that I have read but it is very surprising how sensitive he feels love and how skillfully he conveys every moment of it. No reflected aspect will not lose its relevance ...

Read More

В лабиринте

Некий солдат, окоченевший на зимней стуже и уставший, ждёт кого-то возле фонаря под непрекращающимся снегопадом. В руках он держит коробку с неким содержимым, обёрнутую в бумагу; он её должен кому-то передать. Он не помнит никаких деталей встречи: где, когда и с кем она должна состояться; он ничего не помнит о себе: из какой он воинской части, чья на нём шинель. Он переходит с улицы на ...

Read More

Как я был произведением искусства

Эрик-Эмманюэль Шмитт — современный французский писатель, известен как автор ряда простых для прочтения произведений, но, тем не менее, наполненных глубоким философским смыслом. Можно даже сказать, что каждое его произведение — это философская притча, поднимающая как минимум одну глобальную проблему бытия: что есть жизнь, смерть, Бог и религия. Его роман «Как я был произведением искусства» написан 2002 году и не является исключением.

Read More

Страх и трепет

Амели Нотомб — бельгийская писательница, пишущая на французском языке. Её отец был дипломатом, поэтому в детстве Нотомб жила в разных странах: Японии, США, Лаосе, Бирме, Китае и Бангладеш, — что сильно повлияло на её творчество. Всего она написала 23 романа, а самый знаменитый «Страх и трепет» был номинирован на Гонкуровскую премию.

Read More

Неведомый шедевр

Бальзак написал эту новеллу в рамках цикла «Философские этюды» в 1832 году. В ней он демонстрирует себя в качестве знатока искусства, но главное — предсказателем развития европейского искусства конца XIX века и всего двадцатого столетия.

Read More

«Исповедь сына века» | 11 избранных цитат

На момент написания этого поста я только-только дочитала роман «Исповедь сына века» Альфреда де Мюссе. С автором только познакомилась, но очень удивлена тому, как чутко он чувствует любовь и как мастерски он передаёт каждое её мгновение. Ни один отражённый аспект не потеряет своей актуальности, а в столь чётко противопоставленных героях-антиподах можно узнать и частички себя.

Read More