Carmen, the Opera

What associations do you have with Carmen? Of course, the Spanish passion, languor, violence of feelings, female beauty and ability to captivate everyone who will meet on the way. Her image is so firmly established in our minds that the requirement for knowledge of the plot of the opera completely disappears.

Today “Carmen” is considered one of the most famous operas in the world, along with Verdi’s “La Traviata”, Rossini’s ” The Barber of Seville”, Mozart’s “The Magic Flute” and others. It’s hard to imagine that the premiere years, the 70s of XIX century, were extremely unfortunate for this opera. To such an extent that some experts associate Georges Bizet’s quick demise at the age of 37 with another creative failure. Then the opera caused confusion with its common people, stormy scenes, bloody finale and characters in general: Gypsies, smugglers, bullfighters, women of easy virtue — none of them inspired confidence and promoted the spread of good morals.

Created by Georges Bizet is a masterpiece, no doubt. The music is bright, full of life, Spanish flavor (although Bizet himself has never been in Spain!) and, in spite of its optimism, is dramatic. Delightfully complementing the tragedy of love Jose and Carmen, it is completely independent and does not need to be accompanied not only by translation, but also by words in French.

It is worth taking into account the strong differences of the libretto from the novel of the same title by Prosper Mérimée. The libretto authors Henri Meilhac and Ludovic Halévy changed the scene: it moved to crowded streets and squares, spacious mountains. This was not enough, and they also rethought the images of the main characters: Jose became somewhat weak-willed, simple, dreaming of peaceful happiness; Carmen lost all qualities that degraded her (cunning, “thieves’ efficiency”) and, on the contrary, became more noble; Escamillo received a bright and saturated image; Michaela is endowed with even more gentle and affectionate features. Each character came out juicy and interesting for analysis, especially from the contemporary point of view, which we will not indulge in now — we will leave the reasoning and thoughts about the characters, their relationship and destiny. I will only note that Carmen in the interpretation of Georges Bizet seems to be an extremely up-to-date girl, even after almost two centuries since the events described (the action takes place in 1820).

 

For the second year in the Arkhangelsk Drama Theater, opera seasons have been held for the remarkable purpose of giving citizens the rare opportunity to perceive and understand the high dramatic art “live” without leaving the city. In early November, the State Opera and Ballet Theater of the Komi Republic showed its “Carmen” in French.

For some reason, it is believed that the opera is difficult to understand due to the characteristics of the vocals, even in the native language. The peculiarity of “Carmen” is that regardless of the opera language (there is “Carmen” even in Japanese) what is happening on the stage will remain understandable and close to the audience. Current technologies allow us to deepen the degree of perception of the plot: the screens show subtitles in the language of the audience. Unfortunately, in the case of the opera I saw, the subtitles turned out to be useless: the screen was high, you had to lift your head up; the text was so small that even in glasses from the amphitheater (10-13 rows) it was difficult to read the words; sometimes they even forgot to switch to the “next slide”.

I believe that the subtitles in the theater and cinema make life much easier for us and add a touch of procrastination — in exchange, we could learn a foreign language in order to catch the essence. In addition, the skill of listening — by the way, the most difficult to learn — will develop exponentially when listening to opera in the learning language. I was very pleased to realize that after five years from the start of learning French, two of which I do not do anything to raise the level, I understood the words of the parties “with a bang” and without subtitles.

My omission in my own education is that I am terrible at music. Because of this, I am not competent to evaluate the quality of the performance of the parts from this point of view as a professional, or a person from the near professional sphere. However, as a linguist-teacher, I caught one little thing that annoyed my ear — the pronunciation of performers. Even the invited Mikhail Makarov from the Mariinsky Theater (St. Petersburg), where, it would seem, the French language should be at the height, the pronunciation of the French “R” and some other typical French sounds was strongly Russified.

Another detail, the lack of attention to which is justified by its pettiness, but condemned by the importance of a cultural plan, are the costumes of the characters. White military uniforms more likely refer to Germany than to Spain, which had a blue uniform throughout the nineteenth century. And personally for me white uniform is associated exclusively with the sea. Inaccuracies in the selection of costumes also relate to the bullfighter, girls from the factory and Carmen herself. Because of the simplistic images, I felt Spanish sensuality and ardor to a less extent.

Subtitles, pronunciation, costumes — in fact, such trifles, when it comes to a rare opportunity to see the opera, especially when it is your first opera. To some extent, I am even proud that it was precisely “Carmen” and it was within the walls of my native drama theater. You eagerly absorb every action and word from the stage, you listen to live music, and then you stand standing with tears in your eyes hoping to repeat.

Photography: State Theater of Opera and Ballet of the Komi Republic


Sources in the Russian language:
  1. Сайт со статьями об опере, 2011.
  2. Лекции по музыкальной литературе.
Source in the French language:
  1. E. Valera “Uniformes de l’infanterie espagnole en 1853”
Sources in the Spanish language:
  1. La Caballeria En España, 2ª Parte, = Fuentes, Biblioteca Militar de Barcelona
  2. La Caballeria En España, 3ª Parte, = Fuentes, Biblioteca Militar de Barcelona
Source in the English language:
  1. The Vinkhuijzen Collectionof Military Uniforms

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Опера «Кармен»

С чем у вас ассоциируется Кармен? С испанской страстью, томностью, буйством чувств, женской красотой и умением пленить каждого, кто встретится на пути. Её образ настолько прочно утвердился в нашем сознании, что требование в знании сюжета оперы отпадает напрочь.

Сегодня «Кармен» считается одной из самых известных опер мира наравне с «Травиатой» Верди, «Севильским цирюльником» Россини, «Волшебной флейтой» Моцарта и др. Сложно представить, что премьерные годы, 70-е гг. XIX в., были крайне неудачны для этой оперы. До такой степени, что некоторые специалисты связывают скорую кончину Жоржа Бизе в 37-летнем возрасте с очередным творческим провалом. Тогда опера вызывала замешательство своей простонародностью, бурными сценами, кровавым финалом и персонажами вообще: цыгане, контрабандисты, тореадоры, женщины лёгкого поведения, — никто из них не внушал доверия и не способствовал распространению добрых нравов.

Созданное Жоржем Бизе — шедевр, бесспорно. Музыка ярка, полна жизни, испанского колорита (хотя сам Бизе в Испании никогда не был!) и при всей её оптимистичности драматична. Восхитительно дополняя трагедию любви Хозе и Кармен, она вполне самостоятельна и не нуждается в сопровождении не то что перевода, но и слов на французском языке.

Стоит принять во внимание и сильные отличия либретто от одноимённой новеллы Проспера Мериме. Авторы либретто Анри Мельяк и Людовик Галеви изменили место действия: оно перешло на людные улицы и площади, просторные горы. Этого было недостаточно, и они также переосмыслили образы главных персонажей: Хозе стал несколько слабовольным, простым, мечтающим о спокойном счастье; Кармен лишилась всех принижающих её качеств (хитрости, «воровской деловитости») и, наоборот, стала благороднее; Эскамильо получил яркий и насыщенный образ; Микаэла наделена ещё более нежными и ласковыми чертами. Каждый персонаж вышел сочным и интересным для анализа, особенно с современной точки зрения, чему сейчас мы не будем предаваться — оставим рассуждения и мысли о героях, их взаимоотношениях и судьбе при себе. Отмечу лишь, что Кармен в интерпретации Жоржа Бизе кажется крайне современной девушкой, даже спустя почти два века со времени описываемых событий (действие происходит в 1820 году).

 

В Архангельском Драматическом театре уже второй год проходят оперные сезоны с замечательной целью — дать возможность горожанам воспринимать и понимать высокое драматическое искусство «вживую», не выезжая из города. В начале ноября Государственный Театр Оперы и Балета Республики Коми показал свою «Кармен» на французском языке.

По каким-то причинам считается, что в опере сложно разобрать слова партий из-за особенностей вокала даже на родном языке. Особенность «Кармен» в том, что вне зависимости от языка исполнения оперы (а «Кармен» есть даже на японском) происходящее на сцене останется понятным и близким зрителю. Современные технологии позволяют углубить степень восприятия фабулы: на экранах показывают субтитры на языке зрителей. К сожалению, в случае увиденной оперы субтитры оказались бесполезными: экран располагался высоко, голову приходилось задирать; текст был до того мелким, что даже в очках из амфитеатра (10-13 ряды) трудно разобрать слова; порой даже забывали переключать на «следующий слайд».

Я считаю, что субтитры в театре и кино значительно облегчают нам жизнь и добавляют нотку прокрастинации — взамен, мы могли бы изучать иностранный язык, чтобы уловить суть. К тому же, навык аудирования — кстати, самый сложный для обучения — будет развиваться в геометрической прогрессии при прослушивании оперы на изучаемом языке. Мне было крайне приятно осознавать, что спустя пять лет с начала изучения французского, два из которых я ничего не делаю для поднятия уровня, слова партий понимала «на ура» и без субтитров.

Моё упущение в собственном образовании заключается в том, что я ужасно разбираюсь в музыке. Из-за этого оценить качество исполнения партий с этой точки зрения как профессионал, или человек из околопрофессионального круга, я не компетентна. Впрочем, как лингвист-педагог я уловила одну мелочь, которая раздражала моё ухо — произношение исполнителей. Даже у приглашённого Михаила Макарова из Мариинского театра (Санкт-Петербург), где, казалось бы, французский язык должен быть на высоте, произношение грассированного «R» и некоторых других типично французских звуков было сильно обрусевшим.

Другая деталь, недостаток внимания к которой оправдывается её мелочностью, но осуждается важностью культурологического плана, — это наряды героев. Белая военная форма скорее относится к Германии, чем Испании, у которой на протяжении всего XIX столетия форма была синего цвета. А лично у меня белая униформа ассоциируется исключительно с морем. Неточности в подборе костюмов также касаются тореадора, девушек с фабрики и самой Кармен. Из-за упрощённых образов я в меньшей мере ощутила испанскую чувственность и горячность.

Субтитры, произношение, костюмы — на самом деле такие мелочи, когда речь идёт о редкой возможности увидеть оперу, особенно когда это твоя первая в жизни опера. В какой-то степени я даже горжусь тем, что это была именно «Кармен» и именно в стенах родного театра драмы. Ты с жадностью поглощаешь каждое действие и слово со сцены, ты вслушиваешься в живую музыку, а потом стоя аплодируешь со слезами на глазах в надежде повторить.

Фото: Государственный Театр Оперы и Балета Республики Коми


Источники на русском языке:
  1. Сайт со статьями об опере, 2011.
  2. Лекции по музыкальной литературе.
Источник на французском языке:
  1. E. Valera «Uniformes de l’infanterie espagnole en 1853»
Источники на испанском языке:
  1. La Caballeria En España, 2ª Parte, = Fuentes, Biblioteca Militar de Barcelona
  2. La Caballeria En España, 3ª Parte, = Fuentes, Biblioteca Militar de Barcelona
Источник на английском языке:
  1. The Vinkhuijzen Collectionof Military Uniforms

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: