The Brothers Karamazov

Horror, the anticipation of blood and crime, coupled with a mystical mood is in the air from the first minutes of the play. The riot of feelings and emotions envelops everyone who is in the audience: both the viewer and the actor himself. From them you can not escape into the corridor or buffet, you can not hide under the armchair or behind the back of your neighbor. They are going to overtake everyone.

As the director Maxim Sokolov noted: “It is impossible to prepare for Dostoevsky“. You just need to try to feel it by reading books or watching performances. To my grief, that is exactly it, not regret or sadness, I know  the great Russian writer very little: “Crime and Punishment” and “Poor Folk” were read during school days, as well as “The Idiot” that embarrassed me several years ago. Every time Dostoevsky, considered one of the best writers able to reveal the mysterious Russian soul, leaves me in confusion and uncertainty. I constantly feel some kind of understatement, something is missing for me in his works. And it’s not about the simplicity of the characters, the plot or the happy ending.

After watching “The Brothers Karamazov” (which I want to read very badly for the last few years after “The Idiot” but because of the huge lists of educational and professional literature, there is no time and energy left for it), I finally realized what I was missing, what I so long sought in Dostoevsky as a writer. I did not have enough preparation. Yes, I agree with Maxim Sokolov that Dostoevsky is doing with the characters what he wants — you never know what to expect. Still, you can prepare yourself somehow, for example by trying to determine for yourself the concept of “Russian soul” — in everyday life, we do not even think about this very inalienable reality for us, which no other people in the world have.

For me, the “Russian soul” does not seem to be one thing — its versatility can not be described even with a couple of epithets. “Russian soul” is confusion, savagery, superstition, total self-giving, sacrifice, pride, insanity, extreme emotionalism, sensitivity, charisma, generosity, cunning, “freebie” and excessive self-interest. It hesitates between faith and atheism, between the desire to earn and share with the needy, between love and hatred, life and death.

Absolutely all the features of Russian character are embodied in the characters of the play “The Brothers Karamazov” staged at the Youth Theater. One character is not like the other, of course; but they are all united by “Russian soul”, through which you perceive them not as far from each other as people, but as one family, and even more —  a whole within which a conflict arose.

It seems that it is impossible to fit all the elements in one: complementing each other, they contradict themselves. Nevertheless, Dostoevsky succeeds in describing it in the novel, and Sokolov and the actors are shown on the stage, which would still light up just a little bit from the accumulated energy. It is so much that the soul turns and tears into small pieces, and applause also tears off the head: either in oblivion, or in ecstasy, tears are flowing from the eyes by themselves. At first, slowly, just a couple of drops, but the more you realize and accept the Russianness of your soul, the more tears flowing down your cheeks.

And actors are crying as well.

Photography: Ekaterina Chashchina

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Братья Карамазовы

Ужас, предвосхищение крови и преступления вкупе с мистическим настроением витает в воздухе с первых минут спектакля. Буйство чувств и эмоций обволакивает каждого, кто находится в зале: как зрителя, так и самого актёра. От них не убежишь в коридор или буфет, не спрячешься под кресло или за спину ближнего своего. Они настигнут всех.

Как отметил режиссёр Максим Соколов: «К Достоевскому невозможно подготовиться». Его просто нужно пытаться прочувствовать, читая книги или смотря спектакли. К своей скорби, именно ей, а не сожалению или печали, я знакома с великим русским писателем очень отдалённо: по «Преступлению и наказанию» и «Бедным людям», прочитанным ещё в школьные годы, а также «Идиоту», смутившего меня несколько лет назад. Всякий раз Фёдор Михайлович, считающийся одним из лучших писателей способных раскрыть русскую душу, оставляет меня в замешательстве и неопределённости. Я постоянно чувствую некую недосказанность, мне чего-то не хватает. И дело вовсе не в простоте характеров, сюжета или в счастливом финале.

После просмотра «Братьев Карамазовых» (которых я жажду прочитать последние несколько лет после «Идиота», но из-за огромных списков учебной и профессиональной литературы сил и времени не остаётся) я наконец-то поняла, чего же мне не хватало, чего же я так долго искала в Достоевском как писателе. Мне не хватало подготовки. Да, я соглашусь с Максимом Соколовым, что Достоевский вытворяет с героями, что ему вздумается — ты никогда не знаешь, чего ожидать. Всё же подготовиться кое-как можно, попытавшись определить для себя понятие «русская душа» — в повседневности мы даже не задумываемся над этой очень для нас неотъемлемой реалией, которой больше нет ни у одного народа в мире.

Для меня «русская душа» не представляется чем-то одним — её многогранность не описать даже парой эпитетов. «Русская душа» — это сумбур, дикость, суеверность, полная самоотдача, жертвенность, гордость, сумасшествие, крайняя эмоциональность, чувствительность, харизма, щедрость, хитрость, «халява» и излишнее самокопание. Она мечется в нерешительности между верой и атеизмом, между желанием заработать и поделиться с нуждающимся, между любовью и ненавистью, жизнью и смертью.

Абсолютно все черты русского характера воплощаются в персонажах спектакля «Братья Карамазовы», поставленного в Молодёжном театре. Один герой не похож на другого, конечно; но объединяет их «русская душа», благодаря которой воспринимаешь их не как на далёких друг для друга людей, а одну семью, и даже больше — единое целое, внутри которого возник конфликт.

Кажется, что уместить все элементы в одном невозможно: дополняя друг друга, они противоречат сами же себе. Тем не менее Достоевскому удаётся это описать в романе, а Соколову и актёрам — показать на сцене, которая ещё чуть-чуть и точно загорелась бы от накопившейся энергии. Её так много, что душу выворачивает и разрывает на мелкие кусочки, а на аплодисментах срывает и голову: то ли в забытьи, то ли в экстазе слёзы текут из глаз сами по себе. Вначале медленно, буквально пара капель, но чем больше ты осознаёшь и принимаешь русскость своей души, тем больше слёз течёт по твоим щекам.

Актёры тоже плачут.

Фото: Екатерина Чащина

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: