VR-performance “In search of the author”

VR-performance “In Search of the Author” united theater and cinema. As in immersive performances, the viewer becomes a direct participant in the action. Half of the performance is watched by the public wearing VR-glasses, and thus he/she turns out in various spaces shot in 360 ° format. This allows the viewer sitting on one spot to choose the foreshortening and the form of viewing individually watch the characters “mount” their own performance.

Arkhangelsk has got used to all sorts of experiments on the traditional theater stage and even to immersive performances do not cause surprise thanks to the Youth Theater. However, Viktor Panov, the artistic director of the theater, decided to completely discourage the Arkhangelsk viewer by bringing the youth theater center Kosmos from Tyumen as a participant in the international festival European Spring. At the center, in addition to the usual performances, the repertoire includes choreographic and plastic performances. They brought to Arkhangelsk their novelty – “In search of the author.”

As soon as you learn that the play is created using virtual reality technology it becomes very curious what and how it will happen. You gonna sit in glasses for an hour? Or what?

Organizers of the performance immediately immerse the viewer in a virtual and augmented reality. In front of the entrance to the hall you will find the mock-ups of the main characters in human growth and on their back side are the icons. If you have a mobile app you can scan them as QR code and go to the character’s personal page of the social network. Everyone has a profile, friends, status and posts on the wall. This approach allows you to familiarize yourself with the characters in advance, make your assumptions and even try to understand the logic of the character. Even in reality each of us enjoys certain social networks, the choice depends on the nature of the person, his/her hobbies and work.

The application also provides an opportunity to get acquainted with the history of the creation of the performance, some interviews and also play with the a duck as in the photo above.

Yes, it is worth to come to such a performance in advance, at least 20 minutes. However, the Youth Theater has long taught its viewer to such behavior.

In the room they give out VR-glasses and give instructions for their use: the red lights up – we put them on, the green one – we take them off. They warn that because of the displacements our belongings should be left in the hall, they will not go anywhere, and after the performance they can be taken away. “Are we going to walk around the hall wearing glasses?”, I thought. The light goes out, the video trailer of some kind of sentimental film is turned on the screen. You just get comfortable, prepare for a blockbuster, but the trailer ends the muted light turns on and we are asked to go to another space. We are exchanging glances with other viewers in perplexity: is it time to put on the glasses? Then it comes to us that we need to go to the room behind the screen where in fact the main action will take place.

There, in the center sits a young man with a cigarette drinks coffee and spins on a chair. Around it 30 more comfortable chairs for spectators are arranged. And then VR-performance begins. The thing is is that the video broadcast through the glasses complements the story of the characters, allowing you to peek into the depths of their subconscious. Whom it is – is unclear, the viewer thinks up him/herself.

In general, the entire performance is built on the imagination of the viewer. He/she is really free to look where he/she wants, spinning, thinking out and changing his/her mind. There is no single way of understanding “In search of the author”. Whether the author tries to create his own story. Whether the actors are able to do anything to get into the film. Whether they are revived in the head of the director characters.

Personally, I saw here a mixture of all theories: these are the author’s attempts to create his own story, his painful and long dialogue with them; these are attempts by the characters to attract the author’s attention to himself, to make himself the dominant hero of the story; it’s the story itself trying to develop on its own path. In this case, VR-glasses carry the viewer into the fictional world of heroes and in reality we see the pain of the author when writing a work.

The story is incredibly close to all creative people. No one bypasses the side shown in the performance. All this speaks for the complexity of direction and writing. To some extent, it even reveals the details hidden from a wide range of people about these professions, makes you think about the very dialogue with the text or video being created. And most importantly, the role and condition of the creator in this process.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

0

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

VR-спектакль «В поисках автора»

VR-спектакль «В поисках автора» объединил в себе театр и кино. Как и в иммерсивных спектаклях, зритель становится непосредственным участником действия. Половину спектакля публика смотрит, надев VR-очки, и, тем самым, оказывается в различных пространствах, снятых в формате 360°. Это даёт возможность зрителю, сидя на месте, самому выбирать ракурс и форму просмотра, индивидуально следить за героями, «монтировать» свой собственный спектакль.

Архангельск привык к всякого рода экспериментам на традиционной театральной сцене, постепенно даже иммерсивные постановки не вызывают удивления, благодаря Молодёжному театру. Однако Виктор Петрович Панов решил совершенно обескуражить архангельского зрителя, привезя молодёжный театральный центр «Космос» из Тюмени в качестве участников международного фестиваля «Европейская весна». У центра, помимо обычных спектаклей, в репертуаре есть хореографические и пластические. В Архангельск же они привезли свою новинку — «В поисках автора».

Как только узнаёшь, что спектакль создан с использованием технологии виртуальной реальности, становится очень любопытно, что да как будет происходить. Целый час будешь сидеть в очках? Или как вообще?

Организаторы всей «движухи» сходу погружают зрителя в виртуальную и дополненную реальности. Перед входом в зал стоят макеты главных персонажей в человеческий рост, а на обратной их стороне располагаются значки. При наличии мобильного приложения, можно их просканировать, как QR-код, и перейти на персональную страничку социальной сети героя. У каждого заполнен профиль, есть друзья, статус и посты на стене. Такой подход позволяет ознакомиться с персонажами заранее, сделать свои предположения и даже попытаться понять логику героя. Каждый из нас даже в реальности пользуется определёнными социальными сетями, выбор зависит от характера личности, её увлечений и работы.

Приложение также даёт возможность ознакомиться с историей создания спектакля, некоторыми интервью, а ещё поиграть с уточкой, как на фотографии выше. Как окажется позднее, уточка играет не последнюю роль.

Да, на такой спектакль стоит приходить заранее, как минимум минут за 20. Впрочем, Молодёжный театр давно приучил своего зрителя к такому поведению.

В зале выдают очки и дают инструкцию к их применению: загорается красный — надеваем, зелёный — снимаем. Предупреждают, что ввиду перемещений вещи нужно оставить в зале, они никуда не денутся, а после спектакля их можно будет забрать. «Неужели мы будем ходить по залу в очках?» — думаю я. Свет гаснет, на экране включается видео-трейлер какого-то душещипательного фильма. Только устраиваешься поудобнее, готовишься к блокбастеру, как трейлер заканчивается, включается приглушённый свет, и нас просят пройти в другое пространство. Мы переглядываемся с другими зрителями в недоумении: пора очки надевать? Потом до нас доходит, что нужно пройти в помещение за экраном, где, собственно, и будет происходить основное действо.

Там в центре сидит молодой человек с сигаретой, пьёт кофе и крутится на стуле. Вокруг него расставлены ещё 30 удобнейших стульев для зрителей. И затем начинается он, VR-спектакль. Суть в том, что транслируемое через очки видео как бы дополняет рассказ персонажей, позволяя заглянуть в глубины их подсознания. Кого именно — непонятно, зритель додумывает сам.

Вообще, весь спектакль построен на фантазии зрителя. Он действительно волен смотреть куда хочет, вертеться-крутиться, додумывать и передумывать. Не существует единого пути понимания «В поисках автора». То ли автор пытается создать свою историю. То ли актёры идут на всё, чтобы попасть в фильм. То ли это ожившие в голове режиссёра персонажи.

Лично я увидела здесь смесь всех теорий: это и попытки автора создать свою историю, его мучительный и долгий диалог с ними; это и попытки персонажей привлечь внимание автора к себе, сделать себя главенствующим героем истории; это и сама история, пытающаяся развиваться по собственному пути. В данном случае VR-очки переносят зрителя в вымышленный мир героев, а в реальности мы видим мучения автора при написании произведения.

История невероятно близка всем творящим и созидающим. Никто не обходит показанные в спектакле полемики стороной. Всё это говорит о сложности работы режиссёра и писателя. В какой-то мере даже раскрывает детали, скрытые от широкого круга людей, об этих профессиях, заставляет задуматься о самом диалоге с создаваемым текстом или видео. А главное, о роли и состоянии создателя в этом процессе.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: