Exhibition in Arkhangelsk of works by Ivan Shishkin

September 29, at the Arkhangelsk Museum of Fine Arts on Lenin Square 2 an exhibition of paintings and drawings was opened by one of the great Russian artists – Ivan Shishkin.

First of all, it is worth noting the the general state of things in the art of the second half of the 19th century. All areas of art united in the struggle against the autocratic system, the struggle for realism, nationality and national identity. Artists fought with the official court art of the Academy of Arts. In 1863, the famous “exit of fourteen” happened – the leavingof the 14 strongest students from the Academy, soon after which the Association of Wanderers appeared, which Ivan Ivanovich Shishkin later joined.

Ivan Shishkin is not just a landscape painter, but a “singer of Russian nature”, “a hero of the Russian forest”. The accuracy of the drawing, meticulous painting and addiction to monumental compositions distinguish it from other artists. He has a love of Russian nature from birth: rich forests in the region of Yelabuga, the contemporary republic of Tatarstan, surround the artist throughout his childhood and youth. Shishkin is inspired by what can be called typical places of Russian nature: this is the breadth of space, a high blue sky, a golden field, mighty pine treesы.

In his art, Shishkin is guided by the firm conviction that nature is beautiful in itself, the artist’s task is to tirelessly and lovingly study it and convey it as accurately as possible. In his best paintings, the careful development of details and the integrity of the overall impression, concretization and reliability of individual elements are organically combined.

The wish to achieve maximum truthfulness in the image and to give the objective meaning to the content of his paintings leads Shishkin at first to an analytical study of nature, to the study of all the details he noticed, which seemed to him to significantly complement the idea of ​​the diversity of forest life that struck him. Therefore, in Shishkin’s early works, a certain narrowness of understanding of this problem is revealed: all the artist’s attention is focused on the extremely accurate depiction of each individual subject without the generalization’s search for generalization.

Apparently, only full-scale studies could become the source of the development and enrichment of painting for Shishkin. Beginning in the summer of 1872, he really worked hard on sketches and, according to Kramskoy, “improved in color.” Unfortunately, Shishkin remained within the bounds of the black-and-white understanding of the open air; he did not care about color issues, which limited his creative range. In Shishkin’s paintings, you can often see even, diffuse lighting. Keeping in many respects the method of work he adopted, on the basis of “knowing nature in a scientific way,” Shishkin nevertheless overcame the weaknesses of his early works.

Shishkin’s new searches cannot be regarded as a turning point in the artist’s work. For him, it was more like moving forward along the previous path, mastering what was still not sufficiently developed and incompletely expressed even in such a seemingly familiar and familiar topic as forest life. In all these searches, the artist always remains himself.

The legacy left by the artist is not limited to paintings. No less significant place is occupied in it by the drawing and albums of etchings published during the life of the artist, in the creation of which Shishkin follows the tireless quest, as in painting. Always keen on revealing the shape of objects of the plant world, whether it be a majestically proud pine tree or a modest forest flower, Shishkin fell in love with the very nature of the pattern with its inherent linear principle. Since the study of nature and work in nature were, so to speak, the artist’s element, it is natural that full-scale pencil drawings occupied a special place in his work and the improvement of the mastery of full-scale drawing went side by side with the development of a picturesque study.

The exhibition runs until December 15, 2019. Take at least an hour of your time to visit it!

In addition, free excursions for adults and children are held on weekends when buying an entrance ticket – you can learn more about this on the museum website arhmuseum.ru or on its social networks.

Photography: Arkhangelsk Museum Association


sources used in the russian language:
  1. “The General History of Art in 6 Volumes, Volume 5”, 1964 — 865 p.
  2. “History of Art in 13 Volumes, Volume 9, Book 1”, 1965 — 587 p.
  3. N.N. Mamontova “Ivan Shichkin”, 2010 — 133 p.
  4. N.M. Sokolnikova “The history of fine art. Volume 2”, 2007 — 217 p.
  5. “Art Gallery. Ivan Shishkin”, 2005 — 30 p.
  6. “Great Russian artists. Ivan Shishkin”, 2014 — 40 p.
  7. “Great artists. Ivan Shishkin”, 2009 — 48 p.
  8. “Masters of painting. Ivan Shishkin”, 2001 — 67 p.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Выставка работ Ивана Шишкина в Архангельске

29 сентября в Архангельском музее изобразительных искусств на Площади Ленина 2 открылась выставка живописи и графики одного из великих российских художников — Ивана Шишкина.

Прежде всего стоит отметить внимание на общее положение вещей в искусстве второй половины 19в. Все направления искусства объединились в борьбе с самодержавным строем, борьбе за реализм, народность и национальную самобытность. Художники боролись с официальным придворным искусством Академии художеств. В 1863 году произошёл знаменитый “выход четырнадцати”- уход из Академии 14 сильнейших учеников, вскоре после чего появилось Товарищество передвижников, к которым позднее примкнул и Иван Иванович Шишкин.

Иван Шишкин — не просто художник-пейзажист, а «певец русской природы», «богатырь русского леса». Точность рисунка, скрупулезная живопись и пристрастие к монументальным композициям выделяют его среди других художников. Любовь к русской природе появляется у него с рождения: богатые леса в районе Елабуги, современной республики Татарстан, окружают художника на протяжении его детства и юношества. Шишкин вдохновляется тем, что можно назвать типичными местами русской природы: это широта пространства, высокое голубое небо, золотое поле, могучие сосны.

В своем искусстве Шишкин руководствуется тем твёрдым убеждением, что природа прекрасна сама по себе, задача художника — неутомимо и любовно её изучать и как можно точнее передавать. В его лучших картинах органически сочетается внимательнейшая разработка деталей и цельность общего впечатления, конкретизация и достоверность отдельных элементов.

Стремление достичь максимальной правдивости в изображении и придать содержанию своих картин объективную значимость приводит Шишкина на первых порах к аналитическому изучению природы, к штудированию всех подмечаемых им деталей, которые, как казалось ему, существенно дополняют представление о поразившем его многообразии жизни леса. Поэтому в ранних работах Шишкина обнаруживается некоторая узость понимания этой задачи: всё внимание художника сосредоточено на предельно точном изображении каждого отдельного предмета без необходимых для пейзажиста поисков обобщения.

Источником развития и обогащения живописи могли, видимо, стать для Шишкина только натурные этюды. Начиная с лета 1872 года он действительно усиленно работает над этюдами и, по словам Крамского, «совершенствуется в колорите». К сожалению, Шишкин остался в пределах светотеневого понимания пленэра, вопросы колорита его почти не волновали, что ограничивало его творческий диапазон. В картинах Шишкина чаще можно видеть ровное, рассеянное освещение. Сохраняя во многом принятый им метод работы, на основе «знания природы ученым образом», Шишкин всё же преодолевал слабые стороны своих ранних работ.

Новые искания Шишкина нельзя рассматривать как некий перелом в творчестве художника. Для него это было скорее движение вперед по прежнему пути, освоение того, что осталось еще недостаточно разработанным и неполно выраженным даже в такой, казалось бы, знакомой и родной ему теме, как жизнь леса. Во всех этих исканиях художник всегда остается самим собой.

Наследие, оставленное художником, не исчерпывается произведениями живописи. Не менее значительное место занимают в нём рисунок и изданные ещё при жизни художника альбомы офортов, в исполнении которых, как и в живописи, Шишкин идёт путем неустанных исканий. Всегда увлеченный выявлением формы предметов растительного мира, будь то величаво-гордая сосна или скромный лесной цветок, Шишкин полюбил самую природу рисунка с присущим ему линейным началом. Поскольку изучение природы и работа на натуре были, так сказать, стихией художника, естественно, что натурные рисунки карандашом занимали в его творчестве особое место и совершенствование мастерства натурного рисунка шло бок о бок с развитием живописного этюда.

Выставка работает до 15 декабря 2019 года, уделите хотя бы час своего времени на её посещение!

К тому же по выходным проводятся бесплатные экскурсии для взрослых и детей при покупке входного билета — об этом подробнее вы можете узнать на сайте музея arhmuseum.ru или в его социальных сетях.

Фотографии: Архангельское музейное объединение


Источники на русском языке:
  1. Всеобщая история искусств в 6 томах, том 5, 1964 — 865 с.
  2. История искусства в 13 томах, том 9, книга 1, 1965 — 587 с.
  3. Н.Н. Мамонтова «Иван Шишкин», 2010 — 133 с.
  4. Н.М. Сокольникова «История изобразительного искусства. Том 2», 2007 — 217 с.
  5. «Художественная галерея. Иван Шишкин», 2005 — 30 с.
  6. «Великие русские живописцы. Иван Шишкин», 2014 — 40 с.
  7. «Великие Художники. Иван Шишкин», 2009 — 48 с.
  8. «Мастера живописи. Иван Шишкин», 2001 — 67 с.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: